Paraguay - OPCAT Situation

OPCAT Status

OPCAT ratification date
UNCAT ratification Date
NPM Type

New Specialised Institution

Paraguay ratified the OPCAT in December 2005 and conducted wide consultations with national, regional and international actors interested in torture prevention. A consensus was reached at the national level to establish a new and specialised institution to perform the NPM mandate.

The law establishing the new NPM was adopted in April 2011 and the selecting committee was appointed in August 2012. The appointment of the six NPM members was finalised in December 2012 and the members started their operations early 2013.

Furthermore, Paraguay received two visits of the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture: one regular visit in March 2009 and a follow-up visit in September 2010. The visit reports and the State's replies have been made public.

The SPT member who is the SPT Focal Point for Paraguay is available here.

NPM Structure

The Mechanism is composed of:

  • A National Commission on Prevention, which chairs and represents the Mechanism (composed of 9 Commissioners: 6 permanent members and 3 substitutes, elected by a Selecting Body)
  • Escabinos (citizens who have an expertise in specific fields and who are elected by the National Commission)
  • A technical team



Annual reports

The NPM published its first annual report on the activities carried out during 2013 and submitted it to the Executive and Legislative powers as well as to civil society. Annual reports are available on the NPM's website

Other Reports

Other reports, such as visit and thematic reports, may be available on the NPM’s website.