Election of members to the Committee Against Torture

Friday, September 23, 2011

APT would like to make States aware of the forthcoming election, to be held on 18 October in Geneva, among State Parties to the Convention Against Torture, to fill five seats of the CAT Committee which become vacant by the end of 2011.

Pursuant to the Convention, State Parties will be invited to vote for the five candidates who best demonstrate expertise in the field of human rights, giving due consideration to achieving an equitable geographical distribution and to the usefulness of the participation of some persons having legal experience.

The importance of the election process should not be underestimated. The CAT Committee is composed of ten experts who serve in a personal capacity for a term of four years. This election will therefore have a significant result both for the composition of the Committee and for the direction and scope of work undertaken over the next four years.

The Candidates who have been nominated for election are:

  • Mr. Aleš BUTALA
  • Mr. Satyabhooshun Gupt DOMAH
  • Ms. Felice GAER
  • Mr. Abdoulaye GAYE
  • Mr. Claudio GROSSMAN
  • Mr. George TUGUSHI
  • Ms. Marie-Gisèle ZINKP
  • Ms. Dora Ruth DEL VALLE COBAR

If you would like to receive an APT summary of the candidates and their experience, please send an email to Matthew Sands, Legal Adviser. The candidates full CVs are available on the OHCHR website.