OPCAT+10

To celebrate the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture (OPCAT)'s 10th anniversary, the APT gathered 20 powerful stories of impact, written by various stakeholders active in the field of torture prevention, and put them all together in a booklet as well as on a mini-website.

The OPCAT entered into force in June 2006. Over the past decade, the OPCAT has contributed to real changes in the prevention of torture and ill-treatment worldwide.

In particular, National Preventive Mechanisms (NPMs) established under the OPCAT contribute to reducing the risks of torture by conducting regular visits to places of deprivation of liberty. NPMs visit prisons, police stations, places where children are held in detention, homes for the elderly and persons with a disability, or immigration detention centres. The NPMs make recommendations that can lead to substantive changes in law and practice through the engagement of State authorities and civil society.

Consult opcat10.apt.ch to read the Stories of Change about how NPMs in 20 countries (Austria, Brazil, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Georgia, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, the Maldives, Mali, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Kingdom or Uruguay) made a difference in preventing torture.

OPCAT+10

Pour célébrer le 10e anniversaire du Protocole facultatif à la Convention contre la torture (OPCAT), l'APT a recueilli 20 récits percutants d'impact, écrits par diverses parties prenantes actives dans le domaine de la prévention de la torture, et les a réunis dans une brochure ainsi que sur un site internet.

L'OPCAT est entré en vigueur en juin 2006. Au cours de la dernière décennie, l'OPCAT a contribué à de véritables changements en termes de prévention de la torture et des mauvais traitements à travers le monde.

En particulier, les mécanismes nationaux de prévention (MNP), établis dans le cadre de l'OPCAT, contribuent à réduire les risques de torture en effectuant des visites régulières dans les lieux de privation de liberté. Les MNP visitent les prisons, les commissariats de police, les établissements où des enfants sont détenus, les maisons de soins pour personnes âgées et celles atteintes d’un handicap, ou les centres de rétention pour immigrés. Les MNP formulent des recommandations qui peuvent entraîner des changements substantiels dans la législation et la pratique grâce à l'engagement des autorités publiques et de la société civile.

Consultez opcat10.apt.ch pour lire les récits de changement qui illustrent la manière dont les MNP de 20 pays (Autriche, Brésil, Costa Rica, Croatie, Chypre, Danemark, Estonie, France, Géorgie, Hongrie, Kirghizistan, Lituanie, Maldives, Mali, Mexique, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Paraguay, République tchèque, Royaume-Uni, Sénégal, Serbie, Slovénie, Suède, Suisse, Ukraine et Uruguay) ont contribué à prévenir la torture.