Home About us History Jean-Jacques Gautier

Jean-Jacques Gautier

Jean-Jacques Gautier (1912-1986) was born in Chêne-Bougeries, Geneva, in a family of prominent bankers. 

He studied law and gained a doctors degree. Later he joined the Pictet & Cie private bank and became one of its associates. In parallel with a successful professional and political career, Gautier had a strong commitment to humanitarian ideals and aid for the less privileged.

Amnesty International’s first campaign for the abolition of torture, in 1973, made a strong impression on him. Driven by his Christian beliefs and inspired by the growing anti-torture movement, he decided to take an early retirement to dedicate his life to combating torture. He considered torture “the absolute weapon in the service of the powers of the evil, the shame of our century.”

After substantial research Gautier came up with a new idea - opening up the doors to any place of detention for outside monitoring – with a precise objective: Preventing torture from happening in the first place.

Articles appearing in Le Monde 14-15 August 1983 and La Vie, 22 September 1983.

Related Content
Latest tweet

Jean-Jacques Gautier

Jean-Jacques Gautier (1912-1986) est né à Chêne-Bougeries, dans le Canton de  Genève.

Il y a étudié le droit et obtenu un doctorat de l’Université de Genève. Entré au sein de la banque privée Pictet & Cie il en deviendra  l’un des associés. Mais Jean-Jacques Gautier ne s’est pas contenté d’une belle carrière professionnelle. Il a, durant toute sa vie, démontré son engagement très profond pour les idéaux humanitaires et particulièrement pour le sort des personnes les plus démunies.

La première campagne d'Amnesty International pour l'abolition de la torture en 1973 l’aura profondément marqué. Guidé par sa foi  et inspiré par une mobilisation grandissante contre la torture, il décidera de prendre une retraite anticipée et de consacrer sa vie à la lutte contre la torture. De fait, il considérait la torture comme « l'arme absolue au service des puissances du mal, la honte de notre siècle ».

Après avoir réfléchi de façon systématique et approfondie, Jean-Jacques Gautier se fera porteur d’une idée à la fois simple et forte : une nouvelle idée - ouvrir les portes de tous les lieux de détention à un contrôle extérieur et indépendant - avec un objectif bien précis: prévenir  les actes de torture.

"Les banquiers humanistes existent, c'est même une tradition genevoise dont je me réclame".

Pour en savoir plus, lire: La "proposition Gautier"