The United Kingdom's National Preventive Mechanism

Thursday, April 30, 2009

On 31 March 2009, the United Kingdom's Ministry of Justice published a written ministerial statement designating 18 existing oversight bodies as the UK National Preventive Mechanism, including Her Majesty's Inspectorate for Prisons, Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary, and the lay visiting scheme Independent Custody Visiting Association. Her Majesty's Inspectorate for Prisons will assume the NPM coordination role for the 18 bodies. The UK ratified the OPCAT on 10 December 2003, and the designation of its NPM represents a major break-through for the implementation of the OPCAT in the country.


The 18 bodies which were designated as part of the UK NPM,
coordinated by Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons:

England and Wales

Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons (HMIP)
Independent Monitoring Boards (IMB)
Independent Custody Visiting Association (ICVA)
Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary (HMIC)
Care Quality Commission (CQC)
Healthcare Inspectorate of Wales (HIW)
Children’s Commissioner for England (CCE)
Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales (CSSIW)
Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED)
Image removed.

Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons for Scotland (HMIPS)
Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary for Scotland (HMICS)
Scottish Human Rights Commission (SHRC)
Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland (MWCS)
The Care Commission (CC)
Northern Ireland

Independent Monitoring Boards (IMB)
Criminal Justice Inspection Northern Ireland (CJINI)
Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA)
Northern Ireland Policing Board Independent Custody Visiting Scheme (NIPBICVS)