UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture announces visits for 2015

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

At the end of its 24th session, held in Geneva from 17 to 21 November 2014, the UN torture prevention body announced the countries to be visited in 2015.

Following the practice initiated in recent years, in 2015 the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture (SPT) will conduct a combination of visits: country visits, advisory visits to the National Preventive Mechanisms and follow-up visits.

Country visits will be conducted to Guatemala, Nauru, Italy, the Philippines and Azerbaijan. NPM advisory visits will be carried out in the Netherlands and Turkey. The SPT will also conduct two follow-up visits to countries already visited in the past. The countries have not been announced yet.

The APT welcomes the increasing number of visits planned for 2015 and the continuing engagement with National Preventive Mechanisms.

“We look forward to deepening our contacts with National Mechanisms and will continue to explore new ways of making their and our work as effective as possible, so that we can better protect the rights of those deprived of their liberty to be free from torture or ill-treatment”, said the SPT Chairperson, Mr. Malcom Evans.

For further information on OPCAT implementation in the countries to be visited by the SPT in 2015, please refer to the APT's OPCAT Database.