UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture announces visits for 2014

Monday, November 18, 2013

At the end of its 21st session, the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture announced the countries to be visited in 2014: Azerbaijan, Ecuador, Malta, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria and Togo.

Following the practice initiated in 2012, some of these visits will focus on providing assistance to National Preventive Mechanisms. In addition, the SPT announced that in 2014 it will also conduct a new type of visits, which will consist of short missions with the purpose of providing advice to national authorities to fulfil their obligations under the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention against Torture.

Furthermore, the SPT announced that it will also conduct a follow-up visit to a country previously visited by the body. The country has not been announced yet.

The APT welcomes the increasing number of visits planned for 2014 and the continuing engagement with National Preventive Mechanisms. “For the SPT, the key to preventing torture and ill-treatment lies in building constructive relations between national and international bodies within the OPCAT framework”, said the SPT Chairperson, Mr. Malcom Evans.

For further information on OPCAT implementation in the countries to be visited by the SPT in 2014, please refer to the APT OPCAT Database.