Election of Members to the Subcommittee on the Prevention of Torture

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

As of 01 October 2010, 31 States have presented a candidate, for 20 vacancies, for the SPT elections which are due to take place on 28 October 2010. APT has prepared a chart, which provides the names of the candidates submitted to date, and summarizes key information based on the CVs submitted to the UN. For more detailed information, please note that the CVs of all candidates are available on the OHCHR website. Download the APT Chart.

Following the 50th ratification of the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention against Torture (OPCAT) in September 2009, the SPT membership will increase from 10 to 25 members. Elections are due to take place at the third meeting of States Parties to the OPCAT, which will be held on 28 October 2010 at the United Nations in Geneva.

States Parties will elect 5 members of the SPT, to replace those whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2010. In addition, 15 new members are to be elected. States Parties to the OPCAT will thus have the opportunity to select potentially 20 new members for the SPT.

The APT has published a guidance (English French Portuguese Spanish) for States Parties and relevant stakeholders on selection of SPT candidates and elections of SPT members. Participative, public and transparent national selection process of SPT candidates at domestic level is encouraged. State parties can present candidates right up until the elections. However, in order to have CVs circulated and translated by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR, Secretariat of the SPT), candidates will need to be presented to the OHCHR. The deadline has now been extended to 11 September 2010.

More information on the election process is provided on the OHCHR website.

Current membership of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture

Name of member Country of nationality Term expires
Mr. Mario Luis CORIOLANO Argentina 2012
Ms. Marija DEFINIS GOJANOVIC Croatia 2010
Mr. Malcolm EVANS United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2012
Mr. Emilio GINES SANTIDRIAN Spain 2010
Mr. Zdenek HAJEK Czech Republic 2012
Mr. Zbigniew LASOCIK Poland 2012
Mr. Hans Draminsky PETERSEN Denmark 2010
Mr. Victor RODRIGUEZ RESCIA Costa Rica 2012
Mr. Miguel SARRE IGUINIZ Mexico 2010
Mr. Wilder TAYLER SOUTO Uruguay 2010