Brazil nominates national torture prevention committee

Monday, July 28, 2014

The National Committee for the Prevention and Combatting of Torture of Brazil has now been nominated and formally designated.

The Committee is part of the new National System for the Prevention of Torture, established by a 2013 law to implement the international torture prevention treaty, OPCAT. In the next 90 days, the Committee should elect the eleven members that will make up the National Preventive Mechanism (NPM), an independent body which will undertake regular visits to all places of detention in the country.

The National System also provides that states establish local mechanisms for the prevention of torture, working in collaboration with the NPM. To date, seven Brazilian states have designated local mechanism: Alagoas, Espirito Santo, Minas Gerais, Paraíba, Pernambuco, Rio de Janeiro and Rondônia. Nevertheless, the only operational body is Rio de Janeiro, while Pernambuco has recently completed the selection process of its members.

A list of nominated institutions and their representatives is available here. Read the full article in Spanish and in Portuguese.

Video: President Dilma Rousseff at the installation ceremony. Interview with APT Board member José de Jesus Filho.