LGBTI persons
All standards related to lgbti persons
Photo: Tadej Znidarcic / Open Society

LGBTI stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex. While these terms are increasingly being used at a global level, in different cultures other terms are sometimes used to describe people who form same-sex relationships and those who exhibit non-binary gender identities.

Sexual orientation refers to a person’s physical, romantic and/or emotional attraction towards other people. Gay men and lesbian women are attracted to individuals of the same sex as themselves, while bisexual people can be attracted to individuals of the same or different sex. Sexual orientation is not related to gender identity, which reflects a deeply felt and experienced sense of one’s own gender. For transgender people, there is an inconsistency between their sense of their own gender and the sex they were assigned at birth. An intersex person may identify as male or female or as neither.

Given the importance of cultural and social dimensions in defining sexuality and identity, as well as the differences between the sub-groups and the individuals who make up the “sexual minorities”, the acronym LGBTI must therefore be treated with caution. What matters is to be aware of the fact that the people concerned represent a group which is vulnerable in detention, in the sense that they are exposed to higher levels of risk of discrimination, abuse and violation of their rights. Their minority status compared to the rest of the population of detainees may also contribute to a lack of adequate protection and to neglect or ignorance of their specific needs.

The cultural, social or religious dimensions should never be used to justify the violation of the basic rights of LGBTI people, including when they are deprived of liberty. However, many countries have discriminatory laws that criminalise sexual relationships between people of the same gender and behaviour described as “unnatural”. For these reasons, people deprived of liberty because of their sexual orientation or gender identity are even more exposed to the risk of stigmatisation, abuse and ill-treatment.

There are numerous risks to LBGTI people who are deprived of their liberty, from the moment of their arrest to their release and even afterwards, as stigmatisation and rejection may follow from a period in prison, especially if their sexual orientation is revealed during their arrest or detention.

In many countries, LBGTI people may be arrested by the police solely on the basis of their sexual orientation or gender identity, even if such arrest is not authorised by the legislative framework. LBGTI people are therefore exposed to the risk of arbitrary detention, blackmail, humiliation, ill-treatment and sexual violence. The considerable imbalance of power during questioning by law enforcement agencies carries particular risks for LGBTI people, especially concerning the obtaining of confessions under duress by taking advantage of their vulnerability.

LGBTI persons in preventive detention or who are serving their sentence face persistent risks of discrimination and abuse. Sexual minorities are more exposed than the rest of the prison of the prison population to the risks of stigmatisation, bullying, even physical and sexual violence from the detaining authorities or from their fellow detainees. Preventive policies should be put in place within central management and it is imperative that protective measures be taken by the authorities for any situation that requires them. Policies and measures should include the careful selection of detainees sharing the same cell or the same wing of a building, raising awareness about bullying, discrimination and abuse based on sexual orientation or gender identity, and access to an effective and independent complaint system. LGBTI persons should never be put in isolation as a matter of routine and this should only be done with the informed consent of the people concerned, and without depriving them of services to which other detainees have access. When conjugal visits are allowed, they should also be offered to LGBTI persons.

Transgender persons face specific problems, especially relating to their placement in a prison or in a particular wing. In the majority of cases they are automatically placed in a men’s or women’s section according to their biological gender. This is done without taking into account their own feelings or the procedures to change gender that have initiated through hormonal therapies and/or by surgery. Given the heightened risk of abuse, these decisions should be taken on a case by case basis, with the consent of the persons concerned and the approval of specialist multi-disciplinary committees. Similarly, there should be special procedures in place concerning body searches. Support and therapeutic treatment for transgender people should be carried out according to the principle of equivalence of care and treatment given in the outside world. 

State and detaining authorities have a responsibility of protection and care towards LGBTI detainees. They are also responsible for any abuse committed by fellow detainees and must make every effort to prevent it.

Specific standards:

Yogyakarta Principles on the Application of International Human Rights Law in relation to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5, of the Committee of Ministers to member states on measures to combat discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, 2010

Additional readings:

LGBTI persons deprived of their liberty: a framework for preventive monitoring, APT/PRI, 2013

Russell K. Robinson, Masculinity as Prison: Sexual Identity, Race, and Incarceration, 99 Cal. L. Rev. 1309 (2011)

Eighth annual report of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, CAT/C/54/2, 26 March 2015, pp. 12-14

Ninth annual report of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, "V.Substantive issues: prevention of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons", 22 March 2016, CAT/C/57/4

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel,inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment on the  applicability  of  the  prohibition  of  torture  and  other cruel,  inhuman  or  degrading  treatment  or  punishment  in  international  law  to  the  unique experiences of women, girls, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons, A/HRC/31/57, 5 January 2016

Addressing situations of vulnerability of LGBT persons in detention - Jean-Jacques Gautier NPM Symposium 2015 Outcome Report

Out on the Inside. The Rights, Experiences and Needs of LGBT People in Prison, Irish Penal Reform Trust, February 2016

Blanc Jean-Sébastien, "Minorités sexuelles en détention: de l’invisibilité à la stigmatisation", Stämpfli Verlag AG, Berne, 2015

Prison and Probation Ombudsman (UK), Learning lessons bulletin, PPO investigations, Issue 3, January 2017

Combined search

Find

LGBTI persons
Photo: Tadej Znidarcic / Open Society

LGBTI stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex. While these terms are increasingly being used at a global level, in different cultures other terms are sometimes used to describe people who form same-sex relationships and those who exhibit non-binary gender identities.

Sexual orientation refers to a person’s physical, romantic and/or emotional attraction towards other people. Gay men and lesbian women are attracted to individuals of the same sex as themselves, while bisexual people can be attracted to individuals of the same or different sex. Sexual orientation is not related to gender identity, which reflects a deeply felt and experienced sense of one’s own gender. For transgender people, there is an inconsistency between their sense of their own gender and the sex they were assigned at birth. An intersex person may identify as male or female or as neither.

Given the importance of cultural and social dimensions in defining sexuality and identity, as well as the differences between the sub-groups and the individuals who make up the “sexual minorities”, the acronym LGBTI must therefore be treated with caution. What matters is to be aware of the fact that the people concerned represent a group which is vulnerable in detention, in the sense that they are exposed to higher levels of risk of discrimination, abuse and violation of their rights. Their minority status compared to the rest of the population of detainees may also contribute to a lack of adequate protection and to neglect or ignorance of their specific needs.

The cultural, social or religious dimensions should never be used to justify the violation of the basic rights of LGBTI people, including when they are deprived of liberty. However, many countries have discriminatory laws that criminalise sexual relationships between people of the same gender and behaviour described as “unnatural”. For these reasons, people deprived of liberty because of their sexual orientation or gender identity are even more exposed to the risk of stigmatisation, abuse and ill-treatment.

There are numerous risks to LBGTI people who are deprived of their liberty, from the moment of their arrest to their release and even afterwards, as stigmatisation and rejection may follow from a period in prison, especially if their sexual orientation is revealed during their arrest or detention.

In many countries, LBGTI people may be arrested by the police solely on the basis of their sexual orientation or gender identity, even if such arrest is not authorised by the legislative framework. LBGTI people are therefore exposed to the risk of arbitrary detention, blackmail, humiliation, ill-treatment and sexual violence. The considerable imbalance of power during questioning by law enforcement agencies carries particular risks for LGBTI people, especially concerning the obtaining of confessions under duress by taking advantage of their vulnerability.

LGBTI persons in preventive detention or who are serving their sentence face persistent risks of discrimination and abuse. Sexual minorities are more exposed than the rest of the prison of the prison population to the risks of stigmatisation, bullying, even physical and sexual violence from the detaining authorities or from their fellow detainees. Preventive policies should be put in place within central management and it is imperative that protective measures be taken by the authorities for any situation that requires them. Policies and measures should include the careful selection of detainees sharing the same cell or the same wing of a building, raising awareness about bullying, discrimination and abuse based on sexual orientation or gender identity, and access to an effective and independent complaint system. LGBTI persons should never be put in isolation as a matter of routine and this should only be done with the informed consent of the people concerned, and without depriving them of services to which other detainees have access. When conjugal visits are allowed, they should also be offered to LGBTI persons.

Transgender persons face specific problems, especially relating to their placement in a prison or in a particular wing. In the majority of cases they are automatically placed in a men’s or women’s section according to their biological gender. This is done without taking into account their own feelings or the procedures to change gender that have initiated through hormonal therapies and/or by surgery. Given the heightened risk of abuse, these decisions should be taken on a case by case basis, with the consent of the persons concerned and the approval of specialist multi-disciplinary committees. Similarly, there should be special procedures in place concerning body searches. Support and therapeutic treatment for transgender people should be carried out according to the principle of equivalence of care and treatment given in the outside world. 

State and detaining authorities have a responsibility of protection and care towards LGBTI detainees. They are also responsible for any abuse committed by fellow detainees and must make every effort to prevent it.

Specific standards:

Yogyakarta Principles on the Application of International Human Rights Law in relation to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5, of the Committee of Ministers to member states on measures to combat discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity, 2010

Additional readings:

LGBTI persons deprived of their liberty: a framework for preventive monitoring, APT/PRI, 2013

Russell K. Robinson, Masculinity as Prison: Sexual Identity, Race, and Incarceration, 99 Cal. L. Rev. 1309 (2011)

Eighth annual report of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, CAT/C/54/2, 26 March 2015, pp. 12-14

Ninth annual report of the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, "V.Substantive issues: prevention of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons", 22 March 2016, CAT/C/57/4

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel,inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment on the  applicability  of  the  prohibition  of  torture  and  other cruel,  inhuman  or  degrading  treatment  or  punishment  in  international  law  to  the  unique experiences of women, girls, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons, A/HRC/31/57, 5 January 2016

Addressing situations of vulnerability of LGBT persons in detention - Jean-Jacques Gautier NPM Symposium 2015 Outcome Report

Out on the Inside. The Rights, Experiences and Needs of LGBT People in Prison, Irish Penal Reform Trust, February 2016

Blanc Jean-Sébastien, "Minorités sexuelles en détention: de l’invisibilité à la stigmatisation", Stämpfli Verlag AG, Berne, 2015

Prison and Probation Ombudsman (UK), Learning lessons bulletin, PPO investigations, Issue 3, January 2017

Personnes LGBTI
Toutes les normes pertinentes concernant les personnes lgbti

L'acronyme LGBTI désigne les personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles, transgenres et intersexes. Même si ces termes sont toujours davantage utilisé au niveau global, d'autres termes sont parfois utilisés dans certaines cultures pour décrire les personnes ayant des relations avec des personnes du même sexe ou celles revendiquant une identité de genre non-binaire.

L'orientation sexuelle se réfère à l'attirance physique, romantique et/ou émotionnelle d'une personne envers d'autres. Les hommes gays et les femmes lesbiennes sont ainsi attirés par des personnes du même sexe tandis que les personnes bisexuelles peuvent être attirés par des individus des deux sexes. L'orientation sexuelle est différente de l'identité de genre qui, elle, fait référence à un ressenti profond et intime du genre de chaque personne. Dans le cas des personnes transgenres, on constante une différence entre le propre ressenti du genre et le sexe qui leur a été attribué a la naissance. Une personne intersexe peut quant à elle s'idenditifer aussi bien au genre masculin que féminin, voire ni à l'un ni à l'autre.

Etant donné l’importance des dimensions culturelles et sociales dans la définition de la sexualité et de l’identité, ainsi que les différences entre les sous-groupes et les individus constituant les « minorités sexuelles », l’acronyme LGBTI, en tant que groupe, doit donc être considéré avec précaution. L’important est d’avoir conscience du fait que les personnes concernées représentent un groupe en situation de vulnérabilité en détention, dans la mesure où elles sont exposées à des risques plus élevés de discrimination, d’abus et de violation de leurs droits. Leur statut minoritaire par rapport au reste de la population détenue peut également contribuer à une absence de protection adéquate et à une négligence ou ignorance de leurs besoins spécifiques.

Les dimensions culturelles, sociales et religieuses ne devraient jamais justifier la violation des droits fondamentaux des personnes LGBTI, y compris lorsqu’elles sont privées de leur liberté. Cependant, de nombreux pays ont des lois discriminatoires criminalisant les rapports sexuels entre personnes du même sexe  ou des conduites dites « contre-nature ». Les personnes privées de leur liberté en lien avec leur orientation sexuelle ou leur identité de genre sont encore plus exposées au risque de stigmatisation, d’abus et de mauvais traitement.

Les risques pour les personnes LBGTI privées de leur liberté sont nombreux, depuis le moment de leur appréhension jusqu’à leur libération et même au-delà, puisque la stigmatisation et le rejet peuvent faire suite à un passage en prison, surtout si leur orientation sexuelle est révélée dans le cadre de leur arrestation ou détention.
Dans de nombreux pays, des personnes LBGTI peuvent être appréhendées par la police sur la seule base de leur orientation sexuelle ou identité de genre, même si le cadre législatif ne les y autorise pas. Les personnes LBGTI sont donc exposées à des risques de détention arbitraire, de chantage, d’humiliation, de mauvais traitements et de violence sexuelle. L’important déséquilibre des forces durant les interrogatoires par les forces de l’ordre en font des moments de risque particulier pour les personnes LGBTI, notamment en ce qui concerne l’obtention d’aveux sous la contrainte en abusant de leur vulnérabilité.

Pour les personnes LGBTI en détention préventive ou en exécution de peine, les risques de discrimination et d’abus persistent. Les minorités sexuelles sont plus exposées que le reste de la population carcérale aux risques de stigmatisation, brimades, voire de violence physique et sexuelle de la part des agent·e·s de détention ou de leurs codétenu·e·s. Des politiques préventives devraient être mises en place au sein de l’administration centrale et des mesures de protection devraient impérativement être prises par les autorités pour toute situation l’exigeant. Les politiques et mesures devraient inclure la sélection soigneuse des détenu·e·s d’une même cellule ou d’une même aile d’un bâtiment, la sensibilisation au harcèlement, à la discrimination et aux abus sur la base de l’orientation sexuelle ou de l’identité de genre, ou encore l’accès à un système de plaintes efficace et indépendant. Recourir à l’isolement des personnes LGBTI ne devrait jamais être systématique et devrait se faire avec le consentement éclairé des personnes concernées, sans les priver des services auxquels ont accès les autres détenu·e·s. Lorsque des visites conjugales sont autorisées, elles devraient également être proposées aux personnes LGBTI.

Les personnes transgenres font face à des problèmes spécifiques, notamment liés à leur affectation dans une prison ou une aile particulière. Dans la plupart des contextes, elles sont automatiquement placées dans une section hommes ou femmes en fonction de leur sexe biologique, sans prendre en compte ni leur ressenti, ni les processus entamés de changement de sexe par  thérapie hormonale et/ou par voie chirurgicale. Etant donné les risques élevés d’abus, ces décisions devraient être prises au cas par cas, avec le consentement des personnes concernées et l’aval de commissions spécialisées et pluridisciplinaires.  De la même manière, des procédures spéciales devraient exister concernant les fouilles corporelles. L’accompagnement et les soins thérapeutiques des personnes transgenres devraient se faire sur la base du principe d’équivalence avec les soins prodigués à l’extérieur.  

Les autorités détentrices et étatiques ont une responsabilité de protection et de diligence envers les détenu·e·s LGBTI. Elles sont également responsables de tout abus commis par des codétenu·e·s et doivent tout mettre en œuvre pour les prévenir.

Standards spécifiques

Principes sur l’application de la législation internationale des droits humains en matière d’orientation sexuelle et d’identité de genre, « Principes de Jogjakarta »

Recommandation CM/Rec(2010)5 du Comité des Ministres aux Etats membres sur des mesures visant à combattre la discrimination fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre, 2010

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

“LGBTI persons deprived of their liberty: a framework for preventive monitoring”, Penal Reform International (PRI) and the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT), 2013

Russell K. Robinson, Masculinity as Prison: Sexual Identity, Race, and Incarceration, 99 Cal. L. Rev. 1309 (2011)

Huitième rapport annuel du Sous-Comité pour la prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, CAT/C/54/2, 26 mars 2015

Neuvième rapport annuel du Sous-Comité pour la prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, V.Questions de fond: prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants à l’égard des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexué 22 mars 2016, CAT/C/57/4

Rapport du Rapporteur spécial sur la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants sur  l’applicabilité  de l’interdiction  de  la  torture  et  autres  peines  ou  traitements  cruels,  inhumains  ou dégradants établie en droit international au cas spécifique des femmes, des filles et des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués, A/HRC/31/57. 5 janvier 2016

Répondre aux situations de vulnérabilité des personnes LGBT en détention - Symposium Jean-Jacques Gautier pour les MNP 2015, rapport final

Out on the Inside. The Rights, Experiences and Needs of LGBT People in Prison, Irish Penal Reform Trust, February 2016

Blanc Jean-Sébastien, "Minorités sexuelles en détention: de l’invisibilité à la stigmatisation", Stämpfli Verlag AG, Berne, 2015

Prison and Probation Ombudsman (UK), Learning lessons bulletin, PPO investigations, Issue 3, January 2017

Dossier thématique du Centre suisse de formation du personnel pénitentiaire sur les vulnérabilités en détention, section sur les personnes LGBTI (avril 2017)

Filtrer par

Accéder

Personnes LGBTI

L'acronyme LGBTI désigne les personnes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuelles, transgenres et intersexes. Même si ces termes sont toujours davantage utilisé au niveau global, d'autres termes sont parfois utilisés dans certaines cultures pour décrire les personnes ayant des relations avec des personnes du même sexe ou celles revendiquant une identité de genre non-binaire.

L'orientation sexuelle se réfère à l'attirance physique, romantique et/ou émotionnelle d'une personne envers d'autres. Les hommes gays et les femmes lesbiennes sont ainsi attirés par des personnes du même sexe tandis que les personnes bisexuelles peuvent être attirés par des individus des deux sexes. L'orientation sexuelle est différente de l'identité de genre qui, elle, fait référence à un ressenti profond et intime du genre de chaque personne. Dans le cas des personnes transgenres, on constante une différence entre le propre ressenti du genre et le sexe qui leur a été attribué a la naissance. Une personne intersexe peut quant à elle s'idenditifer aussi bien au genre masculin que féminin, voire ni à l'un ni à l'autre.

Etant donné l’importance des dimensions culturelles et sociales dans la définition de la sexualité et de l’identité, ainsi que les différences entre les sous-groupes et les individus constituant les « minorités sexuelles », l’acronyme LGBTI, en tant que groupe, doit donc être considéré avec précaution. L’important est d’avoir conscience du fait que les personnes concernées représentent un groupe en situation de vulnérabilité en détention, dans la mesure où elles sont exposées à des risques plus élevés de discrimination, d’abus et de violation de leurs droits. Leur statut minoritaire par rapport au reste de la population détenue peut également contribuer à une absence de protection adéquate et à une négligence ou ignorance de leurs besoins spécifiques.

Les dimensions culturelles, sociales et religieuses ne devraient jamais justifier la violation des droits fondamentaux des personnes LGBTI, y compris lorsqu’elles sont privées de leur liberté. Cependant, de nombreux pays ont des lois discriminatoires criminalisant les rapports sexuels entre personnes du même sexe  ou des conduites dites « contre-nature ». Les personnes privées de leur liberté en lien avec leur orientation sexuelle ou leur identité de genre sont encore plus exposées au risque de stigmatisation, d’abus et de mauvais traitement.

Les risques pour les personnes LBGTI privées de leur liberté sont nombreux, depuis le moment de leur appréhension jusqu’à leur libération et même au-delà, puisque la stigmatisation et le rejet peuvent faire suite à un passage en prison, surtout si leur orientation sexuelle est révélée dans le cadre de leur arrestation ou détention.
Dans de nombreux pays, des personnes LBGTI peuvent être appréhendées par la police sur la seule base de leur orientation sexuelle ou identité de genre, même si le cadre législatif ne les y autorise pas. Les personnes LBGTI sont donc exposées à des risques de détention arbitraire, de chantage, d’humiliation, de mauvais traitements et de violence sexuelle. L’important déséquilibre des forces durant les interrogatoires par les forces de l’ordre en font des moments de risque particulier pour les personnes LGBTI, notamment en ce qui concerne l’obtention d’aveux sous la contrainte en abusant de leur vulnérabilité.

Pour les personnes LGBTI en détention préventive ou en exécution de peine, les risques de discrimination et d’abus persistent. Les minorités sexuelles sont plus exposées que le reste de la population carcérale aux risques de stigmatisation, brimades, voire de violence physique et sexuelle de la part des agent·e·s de détention ou de leurs codétenu·e·s. Des politiques préventives devraient être mises en place au sein de l’administration centrale et des mesures de protection devraient impérativement être prises par les autorités pour toute situation l’exigeant. Les politiques et mesures devraient inclure la sélection soigneuse des détenu·e·s d’une même cellule ou d’une même aile d’un bâtiment, la sensibilisation au harcèlement, à la discrimination et aux abus sur la base de l’orientation sexuelle ou de l’identité de genre, ou encore l’accès à un système de plaintes efficace et indépendant. Recourir à l’isolement des personnes LGBTI ne devrait jamais être systématique et devrait se faire avec le consentement éclairé des personnes concernées, sans les priver des services auxquels ont accès les autres détenu·e·s. Lorsque des visites conjugales sont autorisées, elles devraient également être proposées aux personnes LGBTI.

Les personnes transgenres font face à des problèmes spécifiques, notamment liés à leur affectation dans une prison ou une aile particulière. Dans la plupart des contextes, elles sont automatiquement placées dans une section hommes ou femmes en fonction de leur sexe biologique, sans prendre en compte ni leur ressenti, ni les processus entamés de changement de sexe par  thérapie hormonale et/ou par voie chirurgicale. Etant donné les risques élevés d’abus, ces décisions devraient être prises au cas par cas, avec le consentement des personnes concernées et l’aval de commissions spécialisées et pluridisciplinaires.  De la même manière, des procédures spéciales devraient exister concernant les fouilles corporelles. L’accompagnement et les soins thérapeutiques des personnes transgenres devraient se faire sur la base du principe d’équivalence avec les soins prodigués à l’extérieur.  

Les autorités détentrices et étatiques ont une responsabilité de protection et de diligence envers les détenu·e·s LGBTI. Elles sont également responsables de tout abus commis par des codétenu·e·s et doivent tout mettre en œuvre pour les prévenir.

Standards spécifiques

Principes sur l’application de la législation internationale des droits humains en matière d’orientation sexuelle et d’identité de genre, « Principes de Jogjakarta »

Recommandation CM/Rec(2010)5 du Comité des Ministres aux Etats membres sur des mesures visant à combattre la discrimination fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre, 2010

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

“LGBTI persons deprived of their liberty: a framework for preventive monitoring”, Penal Reform International (PRI) and the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT), 2013

Russell K. Robinson, Masculinity as Prison: Sexual Identity, Race, and Incarceration, 99 Cal. L. Rev. 1309 (2011)

Huitième rapport annuel du Sous-Comité pour la prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, CAT/C/54/2, 26 mars 2015

Neuvième rapport annuel du Sous-Comité pour la prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants, V.Questions de fond: prévention de la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants à l’égard des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexué 22 mars 2016, CAT/C/57/4

Rapport du Rapporteur spécial sur la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants sur  l’applicabilité  de l’interdiction  de  la  torture  et  autres  peines  ou  traitements  cruels,  inhumains  ou dégradants établie en droit international au cas spécifique des femmes, des filles et des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués, A/HRC/31/57. 5 janvier 2016

Répondre aux situations de vulnérabilité des personnes LGBT en détention - Symposium Jean-Jacques Gautier pour les MNP 2015, rapport final

Out on the Inside. The Rights, Experiences and Needs of LGBT People in Prison, Irish Penal Reform Trust, February 2016

Blanc Jean-Sébastien, "Minorités sexuelles en détention: de l’invisibilité à la stigmatisation", Stämpfli Verlag AG, Berne, 2015

Prison and Probation Ombudsman (UK), Learning lessons bulletin, PPO investigations, Issue 3, January 2017

Dossier thématique du Centre suisse de formation du personnel pénitentiaire sur les vulnérabilités en détention, section sur les personnes LGBTI (avril 2017)