Children
All standards related to children
Photo: Endre Vestvik

Children are defined as persons below the age of 18 years (Convention on the Rights of the Child, Art. 1). They differ from adults for their physical and emotional development and their specific needs, which require special protection.

Deprivation of liberty for children should be used only as a measure of last resort and a variety of alternative measures to deprivation of liberty should be available for children, to ensure their well-being. When detention is absolutely necessary, it should be used for the shortest appropriate period of time and should aim at rehabilitating and reintegrating children into society.

Children are one of the most vulnerable groups in detention, because of their age and stage of maturity, and the long term damaging effects of detention on their well-being and development. Detention rarely responds to children’s individual characteristics and specific needs, including the need for appropriate education, contact with family and the wider community, sport and recreation. Contrarily, it often intensifies children’s vulnerability to discrimination, abuse, violence, poor living conditions, inadequate health care and nutrition.

Children are deprived of their liberty for a variety of reasons. They are often detained for being suspected or accused of having committed a crime, but also for other reasons: for accompanying a parent seeking asylum in another country, due to physical and mental disabilities, or for status offences which are not criminalised if committed by adults, such as living in the streets, begging, violating curfew regulations or for substance abuse problems. Such behaviours are often the result of disadvantaged socio-economic status or psychological problems and “should be dealt with through the implementation of child protective measures, including effective support for parents and/or caregivers and measures which address the root causes of this behaviour” (Committee on the Rights of the Child, General Comment No. 10).

International standards clearly establish that every child in conflict with the law must be treated in accordance with the rules of juvenile justice and that children can be arrested only if they have reached the minimum age of criminal responsibility, which should not be lower than 12 years.

The majority of children deprived of their liberty are held in pre-trial detention, often for prolonged periods, and for minor offences, in breach with international standards which establish that detention should be used as a measure of last resort, for the shortest appropriate period of time and only for child offenders who are considered as posing a real danger to others. Children deprived of their liberty are at greater risk of experiencing discrimination and abuse by both staff and fellow detainees, from the first moment of contact with the criminal justice system. When deprived of their liberty, they are also at risk of self-harm or even suicide.

In several countries, children’s behaviours which do not conform to the conventional ones are stigmatised by both authorities and the society at large. Such stigmatisation often leads to arbitrary arrest of children, and exposes them to abusive and discriminatory practice by the police. In many circumstances, at the moment of arrest children are not provided with information on their rights and the allegations against them in a manner that they can understand. Following the arrest children may not have prompt access to their parents or caregivers and to legal assistance, which put them at greater risk of physical, verbal and psychological violence, especially during interrogations.

The risk of abuse and ill-treatment by both staff and other detainees is also present in pre-trial detention and when executing a sentence. Although international standards provide that children deprived of their liberty should be separated from adults “unless it is considered in the child’s best interest not to do so” (CRC, Art. 37 (c)), many countries fail to abide by this rule. As a result, children are often deprived of their liberty with adults during transportation, in police stations and in detention centres, exposing them to abuse and compromising their future ability to remain free of crime and to reintegrate into society. Children are at risk of abuse, bullying and violation of their rights also when those awaiting trial are held alongside with convicted children, when boys are detained with girls, when younger children are detained with older ones and when the placement of children in a detention facility does not take into account the specific requirements of the most vulnerable children, e.g. children with physical and mental disabilities.

In many instances, children deprived of their liberty are subject to violent and unlawful disciplinary measures. States have the duty to ensure that disciplinary measures and means of restraint are used only for the maintenance of safety. Those measures which constitute cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or may compromise the well-being of the child should be strictly prohibited, including denial of contact with family, corporal punishment and solitary confinement. In order to prevent abuse and ill-treatment of children in detention, States should also ensure that staff working with children is specialised and that children in detention have access to child-friendly complaints mechanisms.

Children deprived of their liberty are not a homogenous group. Their needs and the risks which they are exposed to vary according to a number of factors, such as age, stage of development, gender, physical or mental disability, substance abuse, prior experience of violence and exploitation, level of education. Therefore, it is vital that the specific characteristics of children deprived of liberty are assessed and that they receive individual care and treatment according to their needs. Girls deprived of their liberty are in a situation of particular vulnerability in detention, due to their age, gender and small numbers, and specific measures should be taken to meet their needs. 

Specific standards

United Nations' Convention on the Rights of the Child, September 1990

UN Standard Minimum Rules for the Administration of Juvenile Justice: the “Beijing Rules”, November 1985

UN Rules for the Protection of Juveniles Deprived of their Liberty: the “Havana Rules”, December 1990

24th General Report of the Eureopan Committee for the prevention of torture, 1st August 2013 - 31 December 2014

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment of punishment, A/HRC/28/68, 5 March 2015

Additional reading/sources

UN Guidelines for the Prevention of Juvenile Delinquency: the “Riyadh Guidelines”

Protecting children’s rights in criminal justice systems, Penal Reform International (PRI), 2013

Neglected needs: Girls in the criminal justice system, Penal Reform International (PRI) and Interagency Panel on Juvenile Justice (IPJJ), 2014

United Nations Model Strategies and Practical Measures on the Elimination of Violence against Children in the Field of Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice, A/C.3/69/L.5, 25 September 2014

Joint report of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime and the Special Representative of the Secretary- General on Violence against Children on prevention of and responses to violence against children within the juvenile justice system, UN Doc. A/HRC/21/25, 27 June 2012

Special Representative of the Secretary- General on Violence against Children, Safeguarding the rights of girls in the criminal justice system.Preventing violence, stigmatization and deprivation of liberty, 2015

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Juvenile Justice and Human Rights in the Americas, 2011

The impact of distance from home on children in custody, Thematic report by HM Inspectorate of Prisons, October 2016

Juveniles deprived of their liberty under criminal legislation, Extract from the 24th General Report of the CPT, published in 2015, CPT/Inf(2015)1-part

Combined search

Find

Children
Photo: Endre Vestvik

Children are defined as persons below the age of 18 years (Convention on the Rights of the Child, Art. 1). They differ from adults for their physical and emotional development and their specific needs, which require special protection.

Deprivation of liberty for children should be used only as a measure of last resort and a variety of alternative measures to deprivation of liberty should be available for children, to ensure their well-being. When detention is absolutely necessary, it should be used for the shortest appropriate period of time and should aim at rehabilitating and reintegrating children into society.

Children are one of the most vulnerable groups in detention, because of their age and stage of maturity, and the long term damaging effects of detention on their well-being and development. Detention rarely responds to children’s individual characteristics and specific needs, including the need for appropriate education, contact with family and the wider community, sport and recreation. Contrarily, it often intensifies children’s vulnerability to discrimination, abuse, violence, poor living conditions, inadequate health care and nutrition.

Children are deprived of their liberty for a variety of reasons. They are often detained for being suspected or accused of having committed a crime, but also for other reasons: for accompanying a parent seeking asylum in another country, due to physical and mental disabilities, or for status offences which are not criminalised if committed by adults, such as living in the streets, begging, violating curfew regulations or for substance abuse problems. Such behaviours are often the result of disadvantaged socio-economic status or psychological problems and “should be dealt with through the implementation of child protective measures, including effective support for parents and/or caregivers and measures which address the root causes of this behaviour” (Committee on the Rights of the Child, General Comment No. 10).

International standards clearly establish that every child in conflict with the law must be treated in accordance with the rules of juvenile justice and that children can be arrested only if they have reached the minimum age of criminal responsibility, which should not be lower than 12 years.

The majority of children deprived of their liberty are held in pre-trial detention, often for prolonged periods, and for minor offences, in breach with international standards which establish that detention should be used as a measure of last resort, for the shortest appropriate period of time and only for child offenders who are considered as posing a real danger to others. Children deprived of their liberty are at greater risk of experiencing discrimination and abuse by both staff and fellow detainees, from the first moment of contact with the criminal justice system. When deprived of their liberty, they are also at risk of self-harm or even suicide.

In several countries, children’s behaviours which do not conform to the conventional ones are stigmatised by both authorities and the society at large. Such stigmatisation often leads to arbitrary arrest of children, and exposes them to abusive and discriminatory practice by the police. In many circumstances, at the moment of arrest children are not provided with information on their rights and the allegations against them in a manner that they can understand. Following the arrest children may not have prompt access to their parents or caregivers and to legal assistance, which put them at greater risk of physical, verbal and psychological violence, especially during interrogations.

The risk of abuse and ill-treatment by both staff and other detainees is also present in pre-trial detention and when executing a sentence. Although international standards provide that children deprived of their liberty should be separated from adults “unless it is considered in the child’s best interest not to do so” (CRC, Art. 37 (c)), many countries fail to abide by this rule. As a result, children are often deprived of their liberty with adults during transportation, in police stations and in detention centres, exposing them to abuse and compromising their future ability to remain free of crime and to reintegrate into society. Children are at risk of abuse, bullying and violation of their rights also when those awaiting trial are held alongside with convicted children, when boys are detained with girls, when younger children are detained with older ones and when the placement of children in a detention facility does not take into account the specific requirements of the most vulnerable children, e.g. children with physical and mental disabilities.

In many instances, children deprived of their liberty are subject to violent and unlawful disciplinary measures. States have the duty to ensure that disciplinary measures and means of restraint are used only for the maintenance of safety. Those measures which constitute cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or may compromise the well-being of the child should be strictly prohibited, including denial of contact with family, corporal punishment and solitary confinement. In order to prevent abuse and ill-treatment of children in detention, States should also ensure that staff working with children is specialised and that children in detention have access to child-friendly complaints mechanisms.

Children deprived of their liberty are not a homogenous group. Their needs and the risks which they are exposed to vary according to a number of factors, such as age, stage of development, gender, physical or mental disability, substance abuse, prior experience of violence and exploitation, level of education. Therefore, it is vital that the specific characteristics of children deprived of liberty are assessed and that they receive individual care and treatment according to their needs. Girls deprived of their liberty are in a situation of particular vulnerability in detention, due to their age, gender and small numbers, and specific measures should be taken to meet their needs. 

Specific standards

United Nations' Convention on the Rights of the Child, September 1990

UN Standard Minimum Rules for the Administration of Juvenile Justice: the “Beijing Rules”, November 1985

UN Rules for the Protection of Juveniles Deprived of their Liberty: the “Havana Rules”, December 1990

24th General Report of the Eureopan Committee for the prevention of torture, 1st August 2013 - 31 December 2014

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment of punishment, A/HRC/28/68, 5 March 2015

Additional reading/sources

UN Guidelines for the Prevention of Juvenile Delinquency: the “Riyadh Guidelines”

Protecting children’s rights in criminal justice systems, Penal Reform International (PRI), 2013

Neglected needs: Girls in the criminal justice system, Penal Reform International (PRI) and Interagency Panel on Juvenile Justice (IPJJ), 2014

United Nations Model Strategies and Practical Measures on the Elimination of Violence against Children in the Field of Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice, A/C.3/69/L.5, 25 September 2014

Joint report of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime and the Special Representative of the Secretary- General on Violence against Children on prevention of and responses to violence against children within the juvenile justice system, UN Doc. A/HRC/21/25, 27 June 2012

Special Representative of the Secretary- General on Violence against Children, Safeguarding the rights of girls in the criminal justice system.Preventing violence, stigmatization and deprivation of liberty, 2015

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Juvenile Justice and Human Rights in the Americas, 2011

The impact of distance from home on children in custody, Thematic report by HM Inspectorate of Prisons, October 2016

Juveniles deprived of their liberty under criminal legislation, Extract from the 24th General Report of the CPT, published in 2015, CPT/Inf(2015)1-part

Enfants
Toutes les normes pertinentes concernant les enfants

Les enfants sont définis comme des personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans (Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant, Art. 1). Ils diffèrent des adultes par leur développement physique et émotionnel, et par leurs besoins spécifiques, qui exigent une protection particulière.

La privation de liberté des enfants ne devrait être qu’une mesure de dernier recours et un éventail de mesures alternatives à la privation de liberté devrait être disponible pour garantir leur bien-être. Lorsque la détention s’avère absolument nécessaire, elle devrait être appliquée pour le moins de temps possible et devrait viser la réadaptation et la réinsertion des enfants dans la société.

Les enfants constituent l’un des groupes les plus vulnérables en détention, du fait de leur âge et de leur stade de maturité, ainsi que des effets négatifs à long-terme de la détention sur leur bien-être et leur développement. La détention répond rarement à la nature particulière et aux besoins spécifiques des enfants, notamment la nécessité de recevoir une éducation appropriée, les contacts avec leur famille et la communauté, le sport et les loisirs. Au contraire, elle intensifie souvent la vulnérabilité des enfants face à la discrimination, aux abus, à la violence, aux mauvaises conditions de vie, aux soins de santé inadaptés et à la malnutrition.

Les enfants sont privés de liberté pour différentes raisons. Ils sont souvent détenus car ils sont suspectés ou accusés d’avoir commis un délit, mais il peut y avoir d’autres motifs : parce qu’ils accompagnent un parent demandeur d’asile dans un autre pays, ou du fait d’un handicap mental ou physique, ou pour des délits qui ne sont pas sanctionnés s’ils sont commis par des adultes, tels que le fait de vivre dans la rue, la mendicité, la violation d’un couvre-feu ou des problèmes d’addiction. De tels comportements découlent souvent d’un statut socio-économique désavantagé ou de problèmes psychologiques, et « devraient être traités en mettant en œuvre des mesures propres à protéger ces enfants, en particulier sous la forme d’un soutien efficace à leurs parents et/ou gardiens, ainsi que des mesures tendant à remédier aux causes profondes de ces conduites » (Comité des droits de l’enfant, Observation générale n° 10).

Les normes internationales précisent clairement que tout enfant en conflit avec la loi doit être traité conformément aux règles de la justice des mineurs, et que les enfants peuvent être arrêtés seulement s’ils ont atteint l’âge minimum de la responsabilité pénale, qui ne devrait pas être inférieur à 12 ans.
La majorité des enfants privés de liberté se trouvent en détention préventive, souvent pendant de longues périodes, et pour des délits mineurs, ce qui est contraire aux normes internationales qui prévoient que la détention doit rester une mesure de dernier recours, être la plus courte possible, et ne concerner que les délinquants mineurs qui représentent un réel danger pour autrui. Les enfants privés de liberté courent un risque plus important d’être confrontés à la discrimination et aux abus, tant de la part du personnel que de leurs codétenu·e·s, dès leurs premiers contacts avec le système de justice pénale. Lorsqu’ils sont privés de liberté, ils courent également le risque d’automutilation et de suicide.

Dans plusieurs pays, les comportements des enfants s’éloignant des comportements traditionnels sont stigmatisés tant par les autorités que par la société en général. Une telle stigmatisation entraîne souvent l’arrestation arbitraire des enfants, et les expose à des pratiques discriminatoires et abusives de la part de la police. Très souvent, au moment de leur arrestation, les enfants ne sont pas informés de leurs droits et des allégations à leur encontre d’une manière qui leur permette de les comprendre. Suite à leur arrestation, les enfants risquent de ne pas avoir un accès immédiat à leurs parent ou gardiens et à une assistance juridique, ce qui les expose encore davantage aux risques de violence physique, verbale et psychologique, notamment durant les interrogatoires.

Le risque d’abus et de mauvais traitements de la part du personnel et de codétenu·e·s est également présent durant la détention préventive et au moment de l’exécution de la peine. Bien que les normes internationales précisent que les enfants privés de liberté doivent être séparés des adultes « à moins que l’on n’estime préférable de ne pas le faire dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant » (CDE, art. 37 (c)), nombre de pays ne s’y conforment pas. Aussi, les enfants privés de liberté se retrouvent souvent avec des adultes lors de transferts, dans les commissariats de police et les centres de détention, ce qui les expose aux abus et compromet leur capacité future à rester éloigné de la criminalité et à se réinsérer dans la société. Les enfants sont également confrontés aux risques d’abus, de harcèlement et de violation de leurs droits lorsque ceux qui sont en attente de jugement se retrouvent détenus avec des enfants condamnés, lorsque les garçons sont enfermés avec les filles, lorsque des plus jeunes côtoient des enfants plus âgés, et lorsque le placement des enfants dans un centre de détention ne tient pas compte des besoins spécifiques des plus vulnérables, par exemple les enfants souffrant de handicaps physiques ou mentaux.

Il n’est pas rare que les enfants privés de liberté soient soumis à des mesures disciplinaires violentes ou illégales. Les États ont le devoir de s’assurer que les mesures disciplinaires et autres moyens de contrainte ne sont utilisés à des fins de sûreté. Les mesures, qui constituent un traitement cruel, inhumain ou dégradant, ou peuvent compromettre le bien-être de l’enfant, doivent être strictement interdites, tout comme l’interdiction de contact avec la famille, les châtiments corporels et l’isolement cellulaire. Afin de prévenir les abus et mauvais traitements des enfants en détention, les États devraient également s’assurer que le personnel au contact des enfants soit spécialisé, et que les enfants aient accès à des mécanismes de plainte adaptés aux enfants. 

Les enfants privés de liberté ne constituent pas un groupe homogène. Leurs besoins et les risques auxquels ils font face varient selon de nombreux facteurs, tels que l’âge, le niveau de développement, le sexe, le handicap physique ou mental, la toxicomanie, l’expérience précédente de la violence et de l’exploitation, et le niveau d’éducation. Il est donc essentiel d’évaluer correctement les caractéristiques spécifiques des enfants privés de liberté, et de leur offrir des soins et un traitement individuels adaptés à leurs besoins. Les filles privées de liberté sont particulièrement vulnérables en détention, du fait de leur âge, leur sexe et leur faible nombre, et des mesures spécifiques doivent donc être prises pour répondre à leurs besoins.

Standards spécifiques

Convention des Nations unies relative aux droits de l'enfant, septembre 1990

Ensemble de règles minima des Nations Unies concernant l'administration de la justice pour mineurs (Règles de Beijing), novembre 1985

Règles des Nations Unies pour la protection des mineurs privés de liberté (Règles de La Havane), décembre 1990

24e Rapport Général du Comité européen pour la prévention de la torture et des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants, 1er août 2013 - 31 décembre 2014

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

Principes directeurs des Nations Unies pour la prévention de la délinquance juvénile (Principes directeurs de Riyad), décembre 1990

Protecting children’s rights in criminal justice systems, Penal Reform International (PRI), 2013

Neglected needs: Girls in the criminal justice system, Penal Reform International (PRI) and Interagency Panel on Juvenile Justice (IPJJ), 2014

Stratégies et mesures concrètes types des Nations Unies relatives à l’élimination de la violence à l’encontre des enfants dans le contexte de la prévention du crime et de la justice pénale, A/C.3/69/L.5, 25 septembre 2014

Rapport conjoint du Haut-Commissariat aux droits de l’homme, de l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime et de la Représentante spéciale du Secrétaire général sur la violence à l’encontre des enfants relatif à la prévention de la violence contre les enfants dans le système de justice pour mineurs et aux mesures pour y faire face, A/HRC/21/25, 27 juin 2016

The impact of distance from home on children in custody, Thematic report by HM Inspectorate of Prisons, October 2016

Les mineurs privés de liberté en vertu de la législation pénale, Extrait du 24ème rapport général du CPT,publié en 2015, CPT/Inf(2015)1-part

Center for Human Rights & Humanitarian Law & Anti-torture Initiative, Protecting Children Against Torture in Detention: Global Solutions for a Global Problem, May 2017

Filtrer par

Accéder

Enfants

Les enfants sont définis comme des personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans (Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant, Art. 1). Ils diffèrent des adultes par leur développement physique et émotionnel, et par leurs besoins spécifiques, qui exigent une protection particulière.

La privation de liberté des enfants ne devrait être qu’une mesure de dernier recours et un éventail de mesures alternatives à la privation de liberté devrait être disponible pour garantir leur bien-être. Lorsque la détention s’avère absolument nécessaire, elle devrait être appliquée pour le moins de temps possible et devrait viser la réadaptation et la réinsertion des enfants dans la société.

Les enfants constituent l’un des groupes les plus vulnérables en détention, du fait de leur âge et de leur stade de maturité, ainsi que des effets négatifs à long-terme de la détention sur leur bien-être et leur développement. La détention répond rarement à la nature particulière et aux besoins spécifiques des enfants, notamment la nécessité de recevoir une éducation appropriée, les contacts avec leur famille et la communauté, le sport et les loisirs. Au contraire, elle intensifie souvent la vulnérabilité des enfants face à la discrimination, aux abus, à la violence, aux mauvaises conditions de vie, aux soins de santé inadaptés et à la malnutrition.

Les enfants sont privés de liberté pour différentes raisons. Ils sont souvent détenus car ils sont suspectés ou accusés d’avoir commis un délit, mais il peut y avoir d’autres motifs : parce qu’ils accompagnent un parent demandeur d’asile dans un autre pays, ou du fait d’un handicap mental ou physique, ou pour des délits qui ne sont pas sanctionnés s’ils sont commis par des adultes, tels que le fait de vivre dans la rue, la mendicité, la violation d’un couvre-feu ou des problèmes d’addiction. De tels comportements découlent souvent d’un statut socio-économique désavantagé ou de problèmes psychologiques, et « devraient être traités en mettant en œuvre des mesures propres à protéger ces enfants, en particulier sous la forme d’un soutien efficace à leurs parents et/ou gardiens, ainsi que des mesures tendant à remédier aux causes profondes de ces conduites » (Comité des droits de l’enfant, Observation générale n° 10).

Les normes internationales précisent clairement que tout enfant en conflit avec la loi doit être traité conformément aux règles de la justice des mineurs, et que les enfants peuvent être arrêtés seulement s’ils ont atteint l’âge minimum de la responsabilité pénale, qui ne devrait pas être inférieur à 12 ans.
La majorité des enfants privés de liberté se trouvent en détention préventive, souvent pendant de longues périodes, et pour des délits mineurs, ce qui est contraire aux normes internationales qui prévoient que la détention doit rester une mesure de dernier recours, être la plus courte possible, et ne concerner que les délinquants mineurs qui représentent un réel danger pour autrui. Les enfants privés de liberté courent un risque plus important d’être confrontés à la discrimination et aux abus, tant de la part du personnel que de leurs codétenu·e·s, dès leurs premiers contacts avec le système de justice pénale. Lorsqu’ils sont privés de liberté, ils courent également le risque d’automutilation et de suicide.

Dans plusieurs pays, les comportements des enfants s’éloignant des comportements traditionnels sont stigmatisés tant par les autorités que par la société en général. Une telle stigmatisation entraîne souvent l’arrestation arbitraire des enfants, et les expose à des pratiques discriminatoires et abusives de la part de la police. Très souvent, au moment de leur arrestation, les enfants ne sont pas informés de leurs droits et des allégations à leur encontre d’une manière qui leur permette de les comprendre. Suite à leur arrestation, les enfants risquent de ne pas avoir un accès immédiat à leurs parent ou gardiens et à une assistance juridique, ce qui les expose encore davantage aux risques de violence physique, verbale et psychologique, notamment durant les interrogatoires.

Le risque d’abus et de mauvais traitements de la part du personnel et de codétenu·e·s est également présent durant la détention préventive et au moment de l’exécution de la peine. Bien que les normes internationales précisent que les enfants privés de liberté doivent être séparés des adultes « à moins que l’on n’estime préférable de ne pas le faire dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant » (CDE, art. 37 (c)), nombre de pays ne s’y conforment pas. Aussi, les enfants privés de liberté se retrouvent souvent avec des adultes lors de transferts, dans les commissariats de police et les centres de détention, ce qui les expose aux abus et compromet leur capacité future à rester éloigné de la criminalité et à se réinsérer dans la société. Les enfants sont également confrontés aux risques d’abus, de harcèlement et de violation de leurs droits lorsque ceux qui sont en attente de jugement se retrouvent détenus avec des enfants condamnés, lorsque les garçons sont enfermés avec les filles, lorsque des plus jeunes côtoient des enfants plus âgés, et lorsque le placement des enfants dans un centre de détention ne tient pas compte des besoins spécifiques des plus vulnérables, par exemple les enfants souffrant de handicaps physiques ou mentaux.

Il n’est pas rare que les enfants privés de liberté soient soumis à des mesures disciplinaires violentes ou illégales. Les États ont le devoir de s’assurer que les mesures disciplinaires et autres moyens de contrainte ne sont utilisés à des fins de sûreté. Les mesures, qui constituent un traitement cruel, inhumain ou dégradant, ou peuvent compromettre le bien-être de l’enfant, doivent être strictement interdites, tout comme l’interdiction de contact avec la famille, les châtiments corporels et l’isolement cellulaire. Afin de prévenir les abus et mauvais traitements des enfants en détention, les États devraient également s’assurer que le personnel au contact des enfants soit spécialisé, et que les enfants aient accès à des mécanismes de plainte adaptés aux enfants. 

Les enfants privés de liberté ne constituent pas un groupe homogène. Leurs besoins et les risques auxquels ils font face varient selon de nombreux facteurs, tels que l’âge, le niveau de développement, le sexe, le handicap physique ou mental, la toxicomanie, l’expérience précédente de la violence et de l’exploitation, et le niveau d’éducation. Il est donc essentiel d’évaluer correctement les caractéristiques spécifiques des enfants privés de liberté, et de leur offrir des soins et un traitement individuels adaptés à leurs besoins. Les filles privées de liberté sont particulièrement vulnérables en détention, du fait de leur âge, leur sexe et leur faible nombre, et des mesures spécifiques doivent donc être prises pour répondre à leurs besoins.

Standards spécifiques

Convention des Nations unies relative aux droits de l'enfant, septembre 1990

Ensemble de règles minima des Nations Unies concernant l'administration de la justice pour mineurs (Règles de Beijing), novembre 1985

Règles des Nations Unies pour la protection des mineurs privés de liberté (Règles de La Havane), décembre 1990

24e Rapport Général du Comité européen pour la prévention de la torture et des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants, 1er août 2013 - 31 décembre 2014

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

Principes directeurs des Nations Unies pour la prévention de la délinquance juvénile (Principes directeurs de Riyad), décembre 1990

Protecting children’s rights in criminal justice systems, Penal Reform International (PRI), 2013

Neglected needs: Girls in the criminal justice system, Penal Reform International (PRI) and Interagency Panel on Juvenile Justice (IPJJ), 2014

Stratégies et mesures concrètes types des Nations Unies relatives à l’élimination de la violence à l’encontre des enfants dans le contexte de la prévention du crime et de la justice pénale, A/C.3/69/L.5, 25 septembre 2014

Rapport conjoint du Haut-Commissariat aux droits de l’homme, de l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime et de la Représentante spéciale du Secrétaire général sur la violence à l’encontre des enfants relatif à la prévention de la violence contre les enfants dans le système de justice pour mineurs et aux mesures pour y faire face, A/HRC/21/25, 27 juin 2016

The impact of distance from home on children in custody, Thematic report by HM Inspectorate of Prisons, October 2016

Les mineurs privés de liberté en vertu de la législation pénale, Extrait du 24ème rapport général du CPT,publié en 2015, CPT/Inf(2015)1-part

Center for Human Rights & Humanitarian Law & Anti-torture Initiative, Protecting Children Against Torture in Detention: Global Solutions for a Global Problem, May 2017