Foreigners
All standards related to foreigners
Photo: Council of Europe

By definition, “foreigners in detention” are those who are detained in a State of which they are not nationals. In some countries foreigners represent a minority while in others they are by far the majority.

One must distinguish between foreigners detained for a criminal process and those for immigration related reasons: 

Criminal process: foreigners are found in criminal detention facilities, having been accused of (in pre-trial detention) or convicted for crimes under the national law of the country, being detained at the request of another country pending extradition/deportation or detained/serving a sentence by an International tribunal. In some countries unauthorised or irregular entry or stay in the territory without proper documentation is criminalised and leads to imprisonment.

Administrative/immigration process due to their migration status: in some countries, violations of the immigration law (alleged breach of conditions of entry, stay or residence of a territory) leads to administrative detention (also called retention) which describes arrest and detention without charge or trial ordered by the administrative authorities rather than a court. Authorities usually detain migrants to verify their identity; during the refugee determination process; and/or when a deportation decision has been made to ensure the migrant does not abscond. Today the use of ‘immigration detention’ is growing despite the fact that it should only be used as a measure of last resort. When detention is used, it is incumbent on the State to mitigate the loss of liberty as far as possible by ensuring that the treatment and conditions are respectful of the dignity and non-criminal status of immigration detainees.

Foreigners under the criminal system are usually detained in any detention facility alongside nationals of the country, such as police stations or prisons.
Foreign detainees can be vulnerable at many levels and face heightened risks of abuse or ill-treatment, as they are outside their countries of origin or nationality, unfamiliar with the legal context or even with the applicable language. They may not have a strong family or community support network available to them. The disruption of family contact/separation of families for instance increases the risk of isolation, especially if the family lives abroad and cannot visit or communicate frequently. This can have serious psychological effects on a detainee as well as deprive them of external support (such as food, books, newspapers, etc.).

In addition to visits and other means of communications (telephone, post), authorities have a legal obligation under the Vienna Convention to notify the diplomatic or consular representatives of foreign detainees, including migrants, as long as the detainee consents to this notification.

In some context foreigners in detention are grouped by nationalities and it is not uncommon that tensions arise between national groups.

To a varying degree, foreigners will struggle with the language spoken in the place of detention. For example, one of the key procedural safeguards is that detainees are informed on arrival of the reasons why they are detainees and the process to appeal it. This right can only be fully respected if detainees are provided with the information in a language that they understand and/or that they have access to an interpreter.

States should take positive actions such as ensuring that key documents (detainees’ rights, internal rules, complaints system) are translated in various languages and making special diets available to cater for different cultural habits). Such measures mitigate the risk of isolation of foreign detainees from other detainees and staff and the daily life inside the place due to language barriers and religious and cultural practices.

These vulnerabilities and risks can be further exacerbated for persons with special needs or risks categories such as women, children, including unaccompanied or separated children, members of different ethnic/tribal/social groups detained together, victims of torture or trauma, trafficked persons, smuggled migrants, stateless persons or persons with disabilities, the elderly, LGBTI individuals, or those with urgent medical needs.

The authorities should recognise and address the specific needs of foreigners in detention. Foreign detainees should not be automatically placed in remote places of detention by simple assumption that they have no family contacts. Similarly they should not be denied leave solely because they have no home to go to. It is the authorities’ duty to ensure that foreigners are not discriminated against and that positive measures are in place to prevent discrimination.

Specific standards

Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families, 18 December 1990

Convention relating to the Status of Refugees, 28 July 1951

Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons, 28 September 1954

UNHCR Guidelines on the Applicable Criteria and Standards relating to the Detention of Asylum-Seekers and Alternatives to Detention 2012


Additional Readings

Monitoring Immigration Detention: A Practical Manual, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) and the International Detention Coalition (IDC), 2014

Combined search

Find

Foreigners
Photo: Council of Europe

By definition, “foreigners in detention” are those who are detained in a State of which they are not nationals. In some countries foreigners represent a minority while in others they are by far the majority.

One must distinguish between foreigners detained for a criminal process and those for immigration related reasons: 

Criminal process: foreigners are found in criminal detention facilities, having been accused of (in pre-trial detention) or convicted for crimes under the national law of the country, being detained at the request of another country pending extradition/deportation or detained/serving a sentence by an International tribunal. In some countries unauthorised or irregular entry or stay in the territory without proper documentation is criminalised and leads to imprisonment.

Administrative/immigration process due to their migration status: in some countries, violations of the immigration law (alleged breach of conditions of entry, stay or residence of a territory) leads to administrative detention (also called retention) which describes arrest and detention without charge or trial ordered by the administrative authorities rather than a court. Authorities usually detain migrants to verify their identity; during the refugee determination process; and/or when a deportation decision has been made to ensure the migrant does not abscond. Today the use of ‘immigration detention’ is growing despite the fact that it should only be used as a measure of last resort. When detention is used, it is incumbent on the State to mitigate the loss of liberty as far as possible by ensuring that the treatment and conditions are respectful of the dignity and non-criminal status of immigration detainees.

Foreigners under the criminal system are usually detained in any detention facility alongside nationals of the country, such as police stations or prisons.
Foreign detainees can be vulnerable at many levels and face heightened risks of abuse or ill-treatment, as they are outside their countries of origin or nationality, unfamiliar with the legal context or even with the applicable language. They may not have a strong family or community support network available to them. The disruption of family contact/separation of families for instance increases the risk of isolation, especially if the family lives abroad and cannot visit or communicate frequently. This can have serious psychological effects on a detainee as well as deprive them of external support (such as food, books, newspapers, etc.).

In addition to visits and other means of communications (telephone, post), authorities have a legal obligation under the Vienna Convention to notify the diplomatic or consular representatives of foreign detainees, including migrants, as long as the detainee consents to this notification.

In some context foreigners in detention are grouped by nationalities and it is not uncommon that tensions arise between national groups.

To a varying degree, foreigners will struggle with the language spoken in the place of detention. For example, one of the key procedural safeguards is that detainees are informed on arrival of the reasons why they are detainees and the process to appeal it. This right can only be fully respected if detainees are provided with the information in a language that they understand and/or that they have access to an interpreter.

States should take positive actions such as ensuring that key documents (detainees’ rights, internal rules, complaints system) are translated in various languages and making special diets available to cater for different cultural habits). Such measures mitigate the risk of isolation of foreign detainees from other detainees and staff and the daily life inside the place due to language barriers and religious and cultural practices.

These vulnerabilities and risks can be further exacerbated for persons with special needs or risks categories such as women, children, including unaccompanied or separated children, members of different ethnic/tribal/social groups detained together, victims of torture or trauma, trafficked persons, smuggled migrants, stateless persons or persons with disabilities, the elderly, LGBTI individuals, or those with urgent medical needs.

The authorities should recognise and address the specific needs of foreigners in detention. Foreign detainees should not be automatically placed in remote places of detention by simple assumption that they have no family contacts. Similarly they should not be denied leave solely because they have no home to go to. It is the authorities’ duty to ensure that foreigners are not discriminated against and that positive measures are in place to prevent discrimination.

Specific standards

Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families, 18 December 1990

Convention relating to the Status of Refugees, 28 July 1951

Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons, 28 September 1954

UNHCR Guidelines on the Applicable Criteria and Standards relating to the Detention of Asylum-Seekers and Alternatives to Detention 2012


Additional Readings

Monitoring Immigration Detention: A Practical Manual, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) and the International Detention Coalition (IDC), 2014

Personnes étrangères
Toutes les normes pertinentes concernant les personnes étrangères

Par définition, les «  personnes étrangères en détention » sont des détenues dans un État duquel elles ne sont pas ressortissantes. Dans certains pays, les personnes étrangères représentent une minorité mais dans d’autres, elles sont de loin la majorité.

Il faut distinguer les personnes étrangères détenues dans le cadre d’une procédure pénale des personnes détenues en lien avec leur statut migratoire :

Procédure pénale : dans les lieux de détention, on trouve des étrangers/-ères accusé·e·s (en détention préventive) ou condamné·e·s pour des infractions droit national du pays, arrêté·e·s  à la demande d’un pays tiers et en attente d’une extradition /expulsion, ou encore détenu·e·s  sur ordre ou décision d’un tribunal international. Dans certains pays, l’entrée ou le séjour non autorisé ou irrégulier sur le territoire sans la documentation adéquate est pénalisée et peut impliquer l’emprisonnement.

Procédure administrative / migratoire du fait du statut de la personne : dans certains pays, la violation du droit de l’immigration (violation alléguée d’entrée, de séjour ou de résidence sur un territoire) peut entraîner une détention administrative (également appelée rétention) qui inclut l’arrestation et la détention (sans mise en examen procès) exigée par une autorité administrative et non par un tribunal. Les autorités détiennent généralement les migrant·e·s  pour vérifier leur identité, pendant la durée de la procédure d’établissement du statut de réfugié·e, et/ou lorsqu’une décision d’expulsion a été prise, afin d’éviter que la personne ne s’échappe. Aujourd’hui, l’usage de la détention pour les migrant·e·s  est croissant bien qu’elle ne devrait être qu’une mesure de dernier recours. Lorsque la détention est utilisée, l’État est tenu d’atténuer les effets de la perte de liberté dans la mesure du possible en veillant à ce que le traitement et les conditions respectent la dignité et le statut non-criminel des détenu·e·s  migrant·e·s.

Au titre du système pénal, les étrangers/-ères sont généralement détenu·e·s  dans tout type de lieu de privation de liberté, aux côtés des ressortissant·e·s du pays, par exemple dans les commissariats de police ou les prisons. Les étrangers/-ères en détention sont vulnérables à plusieurs titres, et font face à des risques plus grands d’abus ou de mauvais traitement, puisqu’ils ou elles se trouvent en dehors de leur pays d’origine, ne connaissent pas ou peu le contexte juridique, voire ne connaissent pas la langue parlée. Il se peut qu’ils n’aient pas de famille ou de réseau communautaire de soutien. L’interruption des liens familiaux et la séparation d’avec la famille augmentent par exemple le risque d’isolement, notamment si la famille vit à l’étranger et ne peut rendre visite ou communiquer fréquemment. Cela peut avoir de graves effets psychologiques sur la personne détenue et la priver de soutien externe (par exemple pour la nourriture, les livres, les journaux, etc.).

En plus des visites et des autres moyens de communication (téléphone, courrier postal), les autorités ont une obligation légale au titre de la Convention de Vienne de notifier la représentation diplomatique ou consulaire des détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères, notamment des migrant·e·s, en accord avec la personne concernée.

Dans certains contextes, les détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères sont regroupé·e·s par nationalité et il n’est pas rare que des tensions surviennent entre les groupes nationaux.

Les étrangers/-ères peuvent également avoir des difficultés avec la langue parlée dans le lieu de détention. Ainsi, l’une des principales sauvegardes procédurales consiste à informer la personne à son arrivée des raisons de sa détention et de la procédure d’appel. Ce droit ne peut être pleinement respecté que si elle reçoit les informations dans une langue qu’elle comprend et/ou si elle a accès à un·e interprète.
Les autorités devraient prendre des mesures positives, veiller par exemple à ce que les principaux documents (les droits des détenu·e·s, le règlement interne, le système de plainte) soient traduits dans différentes langues et proposer plusieurs régimes alimentaires pour satisfaire différentes habitudes culturelles. De telles mesures atténuent les risques d’isolement des personnes étrangères des autres détenu·e·s et du personnel, et facilite la vie quotidienne sur place, rendue difficile compte tenu des obstacles linguistiques, religieux ou culturels.

Ces vulnérabilités et risques sont encore accrus pour les personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux ou provenant de catégories à risque, telles que les femmes, les enfants, notamment les enfants non accompagnés ou séparés de leur famille, les membres de différents groupes ethniques/tribaux/sociaux détenus ensemble, les victimes de torture ou d’événement traumatique, les victimes de traite, les migrant·e·s en situation de clandestinité, les apatrides ou les personnes handicapées, les personnes âgées, les personnes LGBTI ou celles ayant des besoins médicaux urgents.

Les autorités devraient identifier et satisfaire les besoins spécifiques des personnes étrangères en détention. Les détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères ne devraient pas être automatiquement placé·e·s  dans des lieux de détention isolés sur la simple supposition qu’ils ou elles n’ont pas de liens familiaux sur place. De la même manière, on ne devrait pas empêcher leur remise en liberté seulement parce qu’ils n’ont nulle part où aller. Il est du devoir des autorités de veiller à ce que les étrangers/-ères ne fassent pas l’objet de discrimination et que des mesures positives soient en place pour prévenir toute discrimination.

Standards spécifiques

Convention internationale sur la protection des droits de tous les travailleurs migrants et des membres de leur famille, 18 décembre 1990

Convention relative au statut des réfugiés, 22 avril 1954

Convention de 1954 relative au statut des apatrides

UNHCR Guidelines on the Applicable Criteria and Standards relating to the Detention of Asylum-Seekers and Alternatives to Detention 2012

Lectures supplémentaires/Sources

Monitoring Immigration Detention: A Practical Manual, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) and the International Detention Coalition (IDC), 2014

Dossier thématique du Centre suisse de formation du personnel pénitentiaire sur les vulnérabilités en détention, section sur les personnes d'origine étrangère (avril 2017)

Filtrer par

Accéder

Personnes étrangères

Par définition, les «  personnes étrangères en détention » sont des détenues dans un État duquel elles ne sont pas ressortissantes. Dans certains pays, les personnes étrangères représentent une minorité mais dans d’autres, elles sont de loin la majorité.

Il faut distinguer les personnes étrangères détenues dans le cadre d’une procédure pénale des personnes détenues en lien avec leur statut migratoire :

Procédure pénale : dans les lieux de détention, on trouve des étrangers/-ères accusé·e·s (en détention préventive) ou condamné·e·s pour des infractions droit national du pays, arrêté·e·s  à la demande d’un pays tiers et en attente d’une extradition /expulsion, ou encore détenu·e·s  sur ordre ou décision d’un tribunal international. Dans certains pays, l’entrée ou le séjour non autorisé ou irrégulier sur le territoire sans la documentation adéquate est pénalisée et peut impliquer l’emprisonnement.

Procédure administrative / migratoire du fait du statut de la personne : dans certains pays, la violation du droit de l’immigration (violation alléguée d’entrée, de séjour ou de résidence sur un territoire) peut entraîner une détention administrative (également appelée rétention) qui inclut l’arrestation et la détention (sans mise en examen procès) exigée par une autorité administrative et non par un tribunal. Les autorités détiennent généralement les migrant·e·s  pour vérifier leur identité, pendant la durée de la procédure d’établissement du statut de réfugié·e, et/ou lorsqu’une décision d’expulsion a été prise, afin d’éviter que la personne ne s’échappe. Aujourd’hui, l’usage de la détention pour les migrant·e·s  est croissant bien qu’elle ne devrait être qu’une mesure de dernier recours. Lorsque la détention est utilisée, l’État est tenu d’atténuer les effets de la perte de liberté dans la mesure du possible en veillant à ce que le traitement et les conditions respectent la dignité et le statut non-criminel des détenu·e·s  migrant·e·s.

Au titre du système pénal, les étrangers/-ères sont généralement détenu·e·s  dans tout type de lieu de privation de liberté, aux côtés des ressortissant·e·s du pays, par exemple dans les commissariats de police ou les prisons. Les étrangers/-ères en détention sont vulnérables à plusieurs titres, et font face à des risques plus grands d’abus ou de mauvais traitement, puisqu’ils ou elles se trouvent en dehors de leur pays d’origine, ne connaissent pas ou peu le contexte juridique, voire ne connaissent pas la langue parlée. Il se peut qu’ils n’aient pas de famille ou de réseau communautaire de soutien. L’interruption des liens familiaux et la séparation d’avec la famille augmentent par exemple le risque d’isolement, notamment si la famille vit à l’étranger et ne peut rendre visite ou communiquer fréquemment. Cela peut avoir de graves effets psychologiques sur la personne détenue et la priver de soutien externe (par exemple pour la nourriture, les livres, les journaux, etc.).

En plus des visites et des autres moyens de communication (téléphone, courrier postal), les autorités ont une obligation légale au titre de la Convention de Vienne de notifier la représentation diplomatique ou consulaire des détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères, notamment des migrant·e·s, en accord avec la personne concernée.

Dans certains contextes, les détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères sont regroupé·e·s par nationalité et il n’est pas rare que des tensions surviennent entre les groupes nationaux.

Les étrangers/-ères peuvent également avoir des difficultés avec la langue parlée dans le lieu de détention. Ainsi, l’une des principales sauvegardes procédurales consiste à informer la personne à son arrivée des raisons de sa détention et de la procédure d’appel. Ce droit ne peut être pleinement respecté que si elle reçoit les informations dans une langue qu’elle comprend et/ou si elle a accès à un·e interprète.
Les autorités devraient prendre des mesures positives, veiller par exemple à ce que les principaux documents (les droits des détenu·e·s, le règlement interne, le système de plainte) soient traduits dans différentes langues et proposer plusieurs régimes alimentaires pour satisfaire différentes habitudes culturelles. De telles mesures atténuent les risques d’isolement des personnes étrangères des autres détenu·e·s et du personnel, et facilite la vie quotidienne sur place, rendue difficile compte tenu des obstacles linguistiques, religieux ou culturels.

Ces vulnérabilités et risques sont encore accrus pour les personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux ou provenant de catégories à risque, telles que les femmes, les enfants, notamment les enfants non accompagnés ou séparés de leur famille, les membres de différents groupes ethniques/tribaux/sociaux détenus ensemble, les victimes de torture ou d’événement traumatique, les victimes de traite, les migrant·e·s en situation de clandestinité, les apatrides ou les personnes handicapées, les personnes âgées, les personnes LGBTI ou celles ayant des besoins médicaux urgents.

Les autorités devraient identifier et satisfaire les besoins spécifiques des personnes étrangères en détention. Les détenu·e·s étrangers/-ères ne devraient pas être automatiquement placé·e·s  dans des lieux de détention isolés sur la simple supposition qu’ils ou elles n’ont pas de liens familiaux sur place. De la même manière, on ne devrait pas empêcher leur remise en liberté seulement parce qu’ils n’ont nulle part où aller. Il est du devoir des autorités de veiller à ce que les étrangers/-ères ne fassent pas l’objet de discrimination et que des mesures positives soient en place pour prévenir toute discrimination.

Standards spécifiques

Convention internationale sur la protection des droits de tous les travailleurs migrants et des membres de leur famille, 18 décembre 1990

Convention relative au statut des réfugiés, 22 avril 1954

Convention de 1954 relative au statut des apatrides

UNHCR Guidelines on the Applicable Criteria and Standards relating to the Detention of Asylum-Seekers and Alternatives to Detention 2012

Lectures supplémentaires/Sources

Monitoring Immigration Detention: A Practical Manual, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) and the International Detention Coalition (IDC), 2014

Dossier thématique du Centre suisse de formation du personnel pénitentiaire sur les vulnérabilités en détention, section sur les personnes d'origine étrangère (avril 2017)