Women
All standards related to women
Photo: Endre Vestvik

Women in detention are a particularly vulnerable group for multiple reasons. Discrimination against women at all levels and in all strata of society is reflected and even exacerbated in prison settings. Prisons, a universe generally conceived by men for men, often do not take into account the specific needs of women, who represent a hardly visible minority of the global prison population (between 2% and 9% depending on estimates). Policies regarding women in detention also tend to be developed by men and, as a result, insufficient consideration is given to the distinctive needs of women in their elaboration.

Frequently, female detainees are vulnerable even before they enter prison because of the violence or discrimination they have suffered. Many have a past marked by domestic violence, exploitation, drug use or trafficking, and poverty. Stigmatisation of women detainees can be particularly strong and lead to family rejection, resulting in isolation that reduces their prospects of reintegration into society after release.

Authorities must protect women detainees from physical and mental violence and abuse by prison staff and fellow inmates. Supervisory staff should therefore be predominantly female. Invasive body searches should only take place as a last resort, in order to avoid potentially traumatic humiliation.

Women from indigenous or ethnic minority groups, women with disabilities, lesbians, and women living with HIV or AIDS are often proportionally overrepresented in prisons and face additional challenges and risks of abuse and discrimination once incarcerated.

The fact that women detainees are a minority of the total prison population is also reflected in infrastructures that are sometimes inadequate, few in number, and located far from their homes or those of their respective families. These elements can in themselves constitute discriminatory treatment vis-à-vis women detainees. Decisions on placement in detention should therefore always take into account the geographical proximity of the prison to the family, especially children, and give preference to alternatives to detention where possible. Where long conjugal visits are allowed for male detainees, they must also be allowed for women.

Female detainees have specific needs and must have access to gynaecological check-ups and screening for diseases such as breast cancer, based on the principle of equivalence of care. The authorities must ensure that these requirements are adequately provided for, including through an adequate health service and regular distribution of sanitary towels in sufficient quantity. In view of their life experiences before being imprisoned, female detainees, especially those who have suffered sexual violence, often require specific psychological support. Special arrangements should be made for pregnant inmates and mothers of young children, taking into account the best interests of the children. Young mothers must be able to breastfeed in conditions that are as normal as possible. Detainees forced to give birth in prison should not be inconvenienced either during or immediately after delivery.

All prison policies related to women should be based on the “United Nations Rules for the Treatment of Women Prisoners and Non-custodial Measures for Women Offenders” (the Bangkok Rules).

Specific standards

United Nations Rules for the Treatment of Women Prisoners and Non-custodial Measures for Women Offenders (the Bangkok Rules)

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel,inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment on the  applicability  of  the  prohibition  of  torture  and  other cruel,  inhuman  or  degrading  treatment  or  punishment  in  international  law  to  the  unique experiences of women, girls, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons, A/HRC/31/57, 5 January 2016

Women deprived of their liberty, Extract from the 10th General Report of the CPT, published in 2000, CPT/Inf(2000)13-part

Additional reading/sources

Women in detention: a guide to gender-sensitive monitoring, APT/PRI, 2013

International Committee of the Red Cross, Women in detention, International Review of the Red Cross, Volume 92 Number 877, March 2010

Combined search

Find

Women
Photo: Endre Vestvik

Women in detention are a particularly vulnerable group for multiple reasons. Discrimination against women at all levels and in all strata of society is reflected and even exacerbated in prison settings. Prisons, a universe generally conceived by men for men, often do not take into account the specific needs of women, who represent a hardly visible minority of the global prison population (between 2% and 9% depending on estimates). Policies regarding women in detention also tend to be developed by men and, as a result, insufficient consideration is given to the distinctive needs of women in their elaboration.

Frequently, female detainees are vulnerable even before they enter prison because of the violence or discrimination they have suffered. Many have a past marked by domestic violence, exploitation, drug use or trafficking, and poverty. Stigmatisation of women detainees can be particularly strong and lead to family rejection, resulting in isolation that reduces their prospects of reintegration into society after release.

Authorities must protect women detainees from physical and mental violence and abuse by prison staff and fellow inmates. Supervisory staff should therefore be predominantly female. Invasive body searches should only take place as a last resort, in order to avoid potentially traumatic humiliation.

Women from indigenous or ethnic minority groups, women with disabilities, lesbians, and women living with HIV or AIDS are often proportionally overrepresented in prisons and face additional challenges and risks of abuse and discrimination once incarcerated.

The fact that women detainees are a minority of the total prison population is also reflected in infrastructures that are sometimes inadequate, few in number, and located far from their homes or those of their respective families. These elements can in themselves constitute discriminatory treatment vis-à-vis women detainees. Decisions on placement in detention should therefore always take into account the geographical proximity of the prison to the family, especially children, and give preference to alternatives to detention where possible. Where long conjugal visits are allowed for male detainees, they must also be allowed for women.

Female detainees have specific needs and must have access to gynaecological check-ups and screening for diseases such as breast cancer, based on the principle of equivalence of care. The authorities must ensure that these requirements are adequately provided for, including through an adequate health service and regular distribution of sanitary towels in sufficient quantity. In view of their life experiences before being imprisoned, female detainees, especially those who have suffered sexual violence, often require specific psychological support. Special arrangements should be made for pregnant inmates and mothers of young children, taking into account the best interests of the children. Young mothers must be able to breastfeed in conditions that are as normal as possible. Detainees forced to give birth in prison should not be inconvenienced either during or immediately after delivery.

All prison policies related to women should be based on the “United Nations Rules for the Treatment of Women Prisoners and Non-custodial Measures for Women Offenders” (the Bangkok Rules).

Specific standards

United Nations Rules for the Treatment of Women Prisoners and Non-custodial Measures for Women Offenders (the Bangkok Rules)

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel,inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment on the  applicability  of  the  prohibition  of  torture  and  other cruel,  inhuman  or  degrading  treatment  or  punishment  in  international  law  to  the  unique experiences of women, girls, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons, A/HRC/31/57, 5 January 2016

Women deprived of their liberty, Extract from the 10th General Report of the CPT, published in 2000, CPT/Inf(2000)13-part

Additional reading/sources

Women in detention: a guide to gender-sensitive monitoring, APT/PRI, 2013

International Committee of the Red Cross, Women in detention, International Review of the Red Cross, Volume 92 Number 877, March 2010

Femmes
Toutes les normes pertinentes concernant les femmes

Les femmes en détention constituent un groupe en situation de vulnérabilité particulière pour de multiples raisons. La discrimination dont elles sont victimes, à tous les échelons et dans toutes les strates de la société, se reflète et se voit même exacerbée dans le monde carcéral.  La prison, univers généralement pensé par des hommes et pour des hommes, ne prend souvent pas en considération les besoins spécifiques des femmes, qui représentent une minorité peu visible de la population carcérale mondiale (entre 2% et 9% selon les estimations). Les politiques en la matière ont également tendance à être prises par des hommes, ce qui a pour conséquence de ne pas suffisamment prendre en considération les spécificités et les besoins propres aux femmes dans leur élaboration. 

Il est fréquent que les femmes détenues soient fragilisées avant même leur entrée en prison, pour avoir subi des violences ou avoir été victimes de discrimination. Selon les contextes, les femmes incarcérées ont souvent un passif lié à la violence domestique, l’exploitation, l’usage ou le trafic de drogues et la pauvreté. La stigmatisation peut se révéler particulièrement forte à l’encontre des femmes détenues et se traduire par un rejet de la part de leurs proches. L’isolement qui s’ensuit réduit leurs chances de réinsertion.

Les autorités doivent protéger les femmes incarcérées de la violence, qu’elle soit physique ou psychique, émanant des personnels et de codétenues. Le personnel surveillant doit ainsi être majoritairement féminin. Le recours aux fouilles invasives ne doit intervenir qu’en tout dernier recours, pour éviter des humiliations potentiellement traumatisantes.
Les femmes indigènes ou issues de minorités ethniques, les femmes handicapées, les femmes lesbiennes et les porteuses du VIH ou du SIDA sont souvent proportionnellement surreprésentées en prison et font face à des défis et des risques d’abus et de discrimination additionnels une fois incarcérées.

Le fait que les femmes détenues soient minoritaires par rapport à l’ensemble de la population carcérale se traduit également par des infrastructures parfois inadaptées, peu nombreuses et éloignées de leur ville d’origine ou du lieu où résident leurs proches. Ces éléments peuvent constituer en soi un traitement discriminatoire vis-à-vis des femmes détenues. Pour cette raison, le placement en détention devrait toujours prendre en compte la proximité géographique avec les proches, surtout les enfants, et les alternatives à la détention privilégiées le cas échéant. Lorsque les visites de longue durée avec un·e conjoint·e sont autorisées pour les hommes, elles doivent l’être également pour les femmes.

Les femmes détenues ont des besoins spécifiques et doivent avoir accès aux contrôles gynécologiques et dépistages de maladies telles que le cancer du sein sur la base du principe d’équivalence des soins. Les autorités doivent garantir que ces besoins sont dûment pourvus, notamment par le biais d’un service de santé adapté et la distribution régulière de serviettes hygiéniques en quantité suffisante. Au vu de leur trajectoire avant l’incarcération, les femmes détenues ont souvent besoin d’un soutien psychologique adapté, notamment pour les victimes de violence sexuelle. Des dispositions spéciales doivent être prises pour les détenues enceintes et les mères d’enfants en bas âge, en tenant en compte l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant. Les jeunes mères doivent pouvoir allaiter dans des conditions aussi normales que possible. Les détenues forcées d’accoucher en prison ne doivent pas être entravées lors de l’accouchement, ni immédiatement après avoir accouché. 

Toutes les politiques carcérales concernant les femmes devraient se baser sur les « Règles des Nations Unies concernant le traitement des femmes détenues et les mesures non privatives de liberté pour les femmes délinquantes » (Règles de Bangkok).

Standards spécifiques

Règles des Nations Unies concernant le traitement des femmes détenues et les mesures non privatives de liberté pour les femmes délinquantes (Règles de Bangkok)

Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes

Rapport du Rapporteur spécial sur la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants sur  l’applicabilité  de l’interdiction  de  la  torture  et  autres  peines  ou  traitements  cruels,  inhumains  ou dégradants établie en droit international au cas spécifique des femmes, des filles et des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués, A/HRC/31/57. 5 janvier 2016

Femmes privées de liberté Extrait du 10e rapport général du CPT, publié en 2000, CPT/Inf(2000)13-part

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

Femmes privées de liberté: inclure la dimension genre dans le monitoring, PRI/APT, 2013

Comité International de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), Les femmes dans les lieux de détention, 2010

Contrôleur général des lieux de privation de liberté, Avis du 25 janvier 2016 relatif à la situation des femmes privées de liberté, 18 février 2016

Filtrer par

Accéder

Femmes

Les femmes en détention constituent un groupe en situation de vulnérabilité particulière pour de multiples raisons. La discrimination dont elles sont victimes, à tous les échelons et dans toutes les strates de la société, se reflète et se voit même exacerbée dans le monde carcéral.  La prison, univers généralement pensé par des hommes et pour des hommes, ne prend souvent pas en considération les besoins spécifiques des femmes, qui représentent une minorité peu visible de la population carcérale mondiale (entre 2% et 9% selon les estimations). Les politiques en la matière ont également tendance à être prises par des hommes, ce qui a pour conséquence de ne pas suffisamment prendre en considération les spécificités et les besoins propres aux femmes dans leur élaboration. 

Il est fréquent que les femmes détenues soient fragilisées avant même leur entrée en prison, pour avoir subi des violences ou avoir été victimes de discrimination. Selon les contextes, les femmes incarcérées ont souvent un passif lié à la violence domestique, l’exploitation, l’usage ou le trafic de drogues et la pauvreté. La stigmatisation peut se révéler particulièrement forte à l’encontre des femmes détenues et se traduire par un rejet de la part de leurs proches. L’isolement qui s’ensuit réduit leurs chances de réinsertion.

Les autorités doivent protéger les femmes incarcérées de la violence, qu’elle soit physique ou psychique, émanant des personnels et de codétenues. Le personnel surveillant doit ainsi être majoritairement féminin. Le recours aux fouilles invasives ne doit intervenir qu’en tout dernier recours, pour éviter des humiliations potentiellement traumatisantes.
Les femmes indigènes ou issues de minorités ethniques, les femmes handicapées, les femmes lesbiennes et les porteuses du VIH ou du SIDA sont souvent proportionnellement surreprésentées en prison et font face à des défis et des risques d’abus et de discrimination additionnels une fois incarcérées.

Le fait que les femmes détenues soient minoritaires par rapport à l’ensemble de la population carcérale se traduit également par des infrastructures parfois inadaptées, peu nombreuses et éloignées de leur ville d’origine ou du lieu où résident leurs proches. Ces éléments peuvent constituer en soi un traitement discriminatoire vis-à-vis des femmes détenues. Pour cette raison, le placement en détention devrait toujours prendre en compte la proximité géographique avec les proches, surtout les enfants, et les alternatives à la détention privilégiées le cas échéant. Lorsque les visites de longue durée avec un·e conjoint·e sont autorisées pour les hommes, elles doivent l’être également pour les femmes.

Les femmes détenues ont des besoins spécifiques et doivent avoir accès aux contrôles gynécologiques et dépistages de maladies telles que le cancer du sein sur la base du principe d’équivalence des soins. Les autorités doivent garantir que ces besoins sont dûment pourvus, notamment par le biais d’un service de santé adapté et la distribution régulière de serviettes hygiéniques en quantité suffisante. Au vu de leur trajectoire avant l’incarcération, les femmes détenues ont souvent besoin d’un soutien psychologique adapté, notamment pour les victimes de violence sexuelle. Des dispositions spéciales doivent être prises pour les détenues enceintes et les mères d’enfants en bas âge, en tenant en compte l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant. Les jeunes mères doivent pouvoir allaiter dans des conditions aussi normales que possible. Les détenues forcées d’accoucher en prison ne doivent pas être entravées lors de l’accouchement, ni immédiatement après avoir accouché. 

Toutes les politiques carcérales concernant les femmes devraient se baser sur les « Règles des Nations Unies concernant le traitement des femmes détenues et les mesures non privatives de liberté pour les femmes délinquantes » (Règles de Bangkok).

Standards spécifiques

Règles des Nations Unies concernant le traitement des femmes détenues et les mesures non privatives de liberté pour les femmes délinquantes (Règles de Bangkok)

Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes

Rapport du Rapporteur spécial sur la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants sur  l’applicabilité  de l’interdiction  de  la  torture  et  autres  peines  ou  traitements  cruels,  inhumains  ou dégradants établie en droit international au cas spécifique des femmes, des filles et des lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués, A/HRC/31/57. 5 janvier 2016

Femmes privées de liberté Extrait du 10e rapport général du CPT, publié en 2000, CPT/Inf(2000)13-part

Lectures supplémentaires/sources

Femmes privées de liberté: inclure la dimension genre dans le monitoring, PRI/APT, 2013

Comité International de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), Les femmes dans les lieux de détention, 2010

Contrôleur général des lieux de privation de liberté, Avis du 25 janvier 2016 relatif à la situation des femmes privées de liberté, 18 février 2016