Health care
Photo: Lori Waselchuk / Open Society

Detainees retain the right to health, which includes available, accessible and scientifically and ethically acceptable health care of at least the same standard as that in the community. The increased burden of disease due to the concentration of marginalised and vulnerable groups in prisons usually means that additional resources are needed.

The closed setting of prisons means that the detainees are dependent for their mental and physical health on the prison authorities, and thereby on the State.
By depriving a person of their liberty, a State takes on a particular duty of care not simply to provide for the treatment of diseases, but to protect and promote the health of the detainees. States cannot justify the failure to provide for the prevention and treatment of physical and mental disease and the promotion of health by a lack of resources, even in economically difficult times. The duty of protection and care remains.

The prevention of disease and promotion of health also requires the State to provide healthy conditions of detention through good sanitation, good nutrition and drinking water, accommodation with appropriate protection from the prevailing climate. The State must also take appropriate measures to tackle overcrowding in prisons since this is often at the root cause of many health problems, as well as management and security problems.

Poor conditions of detention and a lack of prison health not only affects the detainees, the staff and the community, but, under certain circumstances they may also amount to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment, or even torture. Thus States cannot ignore prison health and must take active measures to prevent disease and promote health in prisons. According to the World Health Organisation, health in prisons must be seen as a whole of government responsibility.

Prison health is part of public health

A prison management and prison health care service that promotes a healthy environment will help to promote health in the prison population and amongst the prison staff. The prison environment often has a negative impact on the mental and physical health of the detainees, and these health problems therefore impact on the community when the person is released. There is an constant turnover between the population in the prison and the population in the community. Therefore the health of the prison population, and of the staff, is inextricably linked to that of the community. Prisons form part of society and must therefore form part of the national policies on public health. Prison health is part of public health.

Prison health facilities

Prison health clinics should provide minimum facilities for the management of common diseases, and for the initial management of emergencies. Prison health clinics must have access to a regular supply of essential drugs, such as those stipulated by the World Health Organisation, and in line with the list of drugs available nationally. Those patients who cannot be managed in the prison, must have access to the community health facilities for both out-patient and in-patient care. Access to the local community clinics and hospitals is preferable to establishing separate prison hospitals which require the diversion of a large amount of resources and often lack the appropriate specialists care provided in community hospitals. In particular, where possible, patients with mental health problems should be diverted away from the criminal justice system to appropriate care in community facilities.

Healthcare at least equivalent to that in the community should be available free of charge to all detainees. The health service should address prevention of disease, health promotion, as well as the treatment of mental and physical illness. The first contact with the health service should be an initial medical screening that takes place within the first 48 hours of admission to the prison. The medical screening should document existing...

Browse detention issues

Some individuals and groups in detention may have specific health care needs that need to be addressed on an equivalent level to that in the community. In some cases there may need to be additional resources available in the prisons due to the increased incidence and prevalence of certain diseases.

Browse detention issues

Health staff working in prisons have the same professional and ethical obligations to their patients as staff working in the community health services.  However, the particularities of the prison environment in which the main objectives of the administration are security, safety and maintaining discipline can often conflict with the duty of care of the health staff. This leads to so called “dual loyalties” in which the...

Browse detention issues

Combined search

Find

Health care
Photo: Lori Waselchuk / Open Society

Detainees retain the right to health, which includes available, accessible and scientifically and ethically acceptable health care of at least the same standard as that in the community. The increased burden of disease due to the concentration of marginalised and vulnerable groups in prisons usually means that additional resources are needed.

The closed setting of prisons means that the detainees are dependent for their mental and physical health on the prison authorities, and thereby on the State.
By depriving a person of their liberty, a State takes on a particular duty of care not simply to provide for the treatment of diseases, but to protect and promote the health of the detainees. States cannot justify the failure to provide for the prevention and treatment of physical and mental disease and the promotion of health by a lack of resources, even in economically difficult times. The duty of protection and care remains.

The prevention of disease and promotion of health also requires the State to provide healthy conditions of detention through good sanitation, good nutrition and drinking water, accommodation with appropriate protection from the prevailing climate. The State must also take appropriate measures to tackle overcrowding in prisons since this is often at the root cause of many health problems, as well as management and security problems.

Poor conditions of detention and a lack of prison health not only affects the detainees, the staff and the community, but, under certain circumstances they may also amount to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment, or even torture. Thus States cannot ignore prison health and must take active measures to prevent disease and promote health in prisons. According to the World Health Organisation, health in prisons must be seen as a whole of government responsibility.

Prison health is part of public health

A prison management and prison health care service that promotes a healthy environment will help to promote health in the prison population and amongst the prison staff. The prison environment often has a negative impact on the mental and physical health of the detainees, and these health problems therefore impact on the community when the person is released. There is an constant turnover between the population in the prison and the population in the community. Therefore the health of the prison population, and of the staff, is inextricably linked to that of the community. Prisons form part of society and must therefore form part of the national policies on public health. Prison health is part of public health.

Prison health facilities

Prison health clinics should provide minimum facilities for the management of common diseases, and for the initial management of emergencies. Prison health clinics must have access to a regular supply of essential drugs, such as those stipulated by the World Health Organisation, and in line with the list of drugs available nationally. Those patients who cannot be managed in the prison, must have access to the community health facilities for both out-patient and in-patient care. Access to the local community clinics and hospitals is preferable to establishing separate prison hospitals which require the diversion of a large amount of resources and often lack the appropriate specialists care provided in community hospitals. In particular, where possible, patients with mental health problems should be diverted away from the criminal justice system to appropriate care in community facilities.

Health care services

Healthcare at least equivalent to that in the community should be available free of charge to all detainees. The health service should address prevention of disease, health promotion, as well as the treatment of mental and physical illness. The first contact with the health service should be an initial medical screening that takes place within the first 48 hours of admission to the prison. The medical screening should document existing...

Browse detention issues

Health care for specific groups

Some individuals and groups in detention may have specific health care needs that need to be addressed on an equivalent level to that in the community. In some cases there may need to be additional resources available in the prisons due to the increased incidence and prevalence of certain diseases.

Browse detention issues

Health care staff

Health staff working in prisons have the same professional and ethical obligations to their patients as staff working in the community health services.  However, the particularities of the prison environment in which the main objectives of the administration are security, safety and maintaining discipline can often conflict with the duty of care of the health staff. This leads to so called “dual loyalties” in which the...

Browse detention issues

Services de santé

Les détenu·e·s conservent le droit à la santé, c’est-à-dire à des soins de santé disponibles, accessibles et qui soient scientifiquement et éthiquement acceptables. Ils doivent être au moins de même qualité que ceux offerts dans la communauté. Des ressources plus importantes sont généralement nécessaires compte tenu du risque accru de maladies, et du fait de la concentration de groupes marginaux et vulnérables en prison.

L’environnement clos des prisons signifie que la santé mentale et physique des détenus dépend des autorités pénitentiaires, et donc de l’État. En privant une personne de liberté, l’État assume un devoir de vigilance spécifique, qui ne se limite pas à traiter les maladies, mais qui protège et  promeut également la santé des détenu·e·s. Même en des temps économiquement difficiles, les autorités ne peuvent justifier l’absence de prévention et de traitement des maladies mentales et physiques, ainsi que de promotion de la santé par un manque de ressources. Le devoir de protection et de vigilance demeure.

La prévention des maladies et la promotion de la santé exigent également de l’État qu’il offre des conditions saines de détention grâce à un bon système d’assainissement, une bonne nutrition, l’eau potable et la protection adéquate vis-à-vis des conditions climatiques du pays. L’État doit également prendre les mesures appropriées pour gérer la surpopulation carcérale puisque celle-ci est souvent la cause de problèmes sanitaires, et pour faire face aux problèmes de gestion et de sécurité.

Des mauvaises conditions de détention et sanitaires dans les prisons affectent non seulement les détenu·e·s, le personnel et la communauté, mais dans certaines circonstances, elles équivalent à une peine ou un traitement cruel, inhumain ou dégradant, voire à de la torture. Les États ne peuvent donc pas ignorer les questions de santé en prison, et doivent activement prendre des mesures pour prévenir les maladies et promouvoir la santé en prison. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), la santé en prison doit faire partie intégrante des responsabilités d’un gouvernement.

La santé en prison fait partie de la santé publique

La promotion d’un environnement sain en prison par la direction et le service sanitaire de la prison permet de promouvoir la santé au sein de la population et des agent·e·s de détention. Le milieu carcéral a souvent des effets délétères sur la santé physique et mentale des détenu·e·s, et ces problèmes sanitaires ont à leur tour des effets sur la communauté lorsque la personne est remise en liberté. Il existe un va-et-vient constant entre la population carcérale et la communauté. La santé de la population carcérale et du personnel pénitentiaire est donc étroitement liée à celle de la communauté. Les prisons font partie intégrante de la société et doivent donc être couvertes par les politiques nationales de santé publique. La santé en prison fait partie de la santé publique.

Les équipements sanitaires en prison

Les cliniques situées dans les prisons devraient offrir des équipements basiques pour le traitement des maladies communes, et pour le traitement initial des urgences. Elles doivent avoir accès à un approvisionnement régulier en médicaments essentiels, tels que ceux figurant dans la liste de l’OMS, et conformément à la liste des médicaments disponibles au niveau national. Les patient·e·s ne pouvant être pris en charge dans la prison doivent avoir accès aux centres de soins communautaires, pour les traitements ambulatoires et pour les hospitalisations. L’accès aux cliniques et hôpitaux communautaires locaux est préférable à l’établissement d’un hôpital spécifique dans la prison qui exige de dérouter d’importantes ressources et manque souvent des soins spécialisés offerts dans les hôpitaux communautaires. Les détenu·e·s souffrant de troubles mentaux notamment devraient, lorsque cela est possible, être traité·e·s en dehors du système judiciaire dans des centres de soins communautaires.

Toutes les personnes détenues doivent bénéficier gratuitement de soins de santé au moins équivalents à ceux fournis au reste de la population. Les services de santé pénitentiaires doivent s’attacher à la prévention des maladies et la promotion de la santé et doivent également traiter les problèmes de santé mentale et physique. Chaque...

Découvrir la problématique

Certains individus et groupes en détention peuvent avoir des besoins de santé spécifiques auxquels il faut répondre avec une qualité de soins équivalente à celle qui leur est fournie dans le monde extérieur. Dans certaines situations, des ressources supplémentaires doivent être mises à disposition pour répondre à l’incidence et la...

Découvrir la problématique

Le personnel soignant travaillant en prison a les mêmes obligations professionnelles et éthiques vis-à-vis des patient·e·s que le personnel travaillant dans les centres de soins communautaires. Toutefois, les particularités de l’environnement carcéral, dont l’objectif est la sécurité, la sûreté et le maintien de l’ordre, peuvent souvent entrer en...

Découvrir la problématique

Filtrer par

Accéder

Services de santé

Les détenu·e·s conservent le droit à la santé, c’est-à-dire à des soins de santé disponibles, accessibles et qui soient scientifiquement et éthiquement acceptables. Ils doivent être au moins de même qualité que ceux offerts dans la communauté. Des ressources plus importantes sont généralement nécessaires compte tenu du risque accru de maladies, et du fait de la concentration de groupes marginaux et vulnérables en prison.

L’environnement clos des prisons signifie que la santé mentale et physique des détenus dépend des autorités pénitentiaires, et donc de l’État. En privant une personne de liberté, l’État assume un devoir de vigilance spécifique, qui ne se limite pas à traiter les maladies, mais qui protège et  promeut également la santé des détenu·e·s. Même en des temps économiquement difficiles, les autorités ne peuvent justifier l’absence de prévention et de traitement des maladies mentales et physiques, ainsi que de promotion de la santé par un manque de ressources. Le devoir de protection et de vigilance demeure.

La prévention des maladies et la promotion de la santé exigent également de l’État qu’il offre des conditions saines de détention grâce à un bon système d’assainissement, une bonne nutrition, l’eau potable et la protection adéquate vis-à-vis des conditions climatiques du pays. L’État doit également prendre les mesures appropriées pour gérer la surpopulation carcérale puisque celle-ci est souvent la cause de problèmes sanitaires, et pour faire face aux problèmes de gestion et de sécurité.

Des mauvaises conditions de détention et sanitaires dans les prisons affectent non seulement les détenu·e·s, le personnel et la communauté, mais dans certaines circonstances, elles équivalent à une peine ou un traitement cruel, inhumain ou dégradant, voire à de la torture. Les États ne peuvent donc pas ignorer les questions de santé en prison, et doivent activement prendre des mesures pour prévenir les maladies et promouvoir la santé en prison. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), la santé en prison doit faire partie intégrante des responsabilités d’un gouvernement.

La santé en prison fait partie de la santé publique

La promotion d’un environnement sain en prison par la direction et le service sanitaire de la prison permet de promouvoir la santé au sein de la population et des agent·e·s de détention. Le milieu carcéral a souvent des effets délétères sur la santé physique et mentale des détenu·e·s, et ces problèmes sanitaires ont à leur tour des effets sur la communauté lorsque la personne est remise en liberté. Il existe un va-et-vient constant entre la population carcérale et la communauté. La santé de la population carcérale et du personnel pénitentiaire est donc étroitement liée à celle de la communauté. Les prisons font partie intégrante de la société et doivent donc être couvertes par les politiques nationales de santé publique. La santé en prison fait partie de la santé publique.

Les équipements sanitaires en prison

Les cliniques situées dans les prisons devraient offrir des équipements basiques pour le traitement des maladies communes, et pour le traitement initial des urgences. Elles doivent avoir accès à un approvisionnement régulier en médicaments essentiels, tels que ceux figurant dans la liste de l’OMS, et conformément à la liste des médicaments disponibles au niveau national. Les patient·e·s ne pouvant être pris en charge dans la prison doivent avoir accès aux centres de soins communautaires, pour les traitements ambulatoires et pour les hospitalisations. L’accès aux cliniques et hôpitaux communautaires locaux est préférable à l’établissement d’un hôpital spécifique dans la prison qui exige de dérouter d’importantes ressources et manque souvent des soins spécialisés offerts dans les hôpitaux communautaires. Les détenu·e·s souffrant de troubles mentaux notamment devraient, lorsque cela est possible, être traité·e·s en dehors du système judiciaire dans des centres de soins communautaires.

Accès aux soins de santé

Toutes les personnes détenues doivent bénéficier gratuitement de soins de santé au moins équivalents à ceux fournis au reste de la population. Les services de santé pénitentiaires doivent s’attacher à la prévention des maladies et la promotion de la santé et doivent également traiter les problèmes de santé mentale et physique. Chaque...

Découvrir la problématique

Soins spécifiques par catégorie de détenu·e·s

Certains individus et groupes en détention peuvent avoir des besoins de santé spécifiques auxquels il faut répondre avec une qualité de soins équivalente à celle qui leur est fournie dans le monde extérieur. Dans certaines situations, des ressources supplémentaires doivent être mises à disposition pour répondre à l’incidence et la...

Découvrir la problématique

Personnel de santé

Le personnel soignant travaillant en prison a les mêmes obligations professionnelles et éthiques vis-à-vis des patient·e·s que le personnel travaillant dans les centres de soins communautaires. Toutefois, les particularités de l’environnement carcéral, dont l’objectif est la sécurité, la sûreté et le maintien de l’ordre, peuvent souvent entrer en...

Découvrir la problématique